Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!
Grey's Anatomy Original Titles

Emmy and Golden Globe award-winning American primetime television medical drama

< read all 4 reviews

Started Off Great ... Became a Bit Too Cheesy

  • Apr 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
I'll never forget watching the premiere of Grey's Anatomy on March 27th, 2005. It had been years since I had fun a television show that I wanted to watch regularly, so I decided to give this one a try. I was never too into medical dramas and I had never even watched an episode of E.R.

From the very first episode I was hooked on the drama and tension between all the characters. All the backstabbing, lying and cheating made the show more realistic to someone around my age, compared to the teen dramas such as Dawson's Creek and Saved By The Bell that I have since outgrown.

Not only were the storylines very thoughout, but some of the medical scenes were like nothing I've ever seen before. I will always remember the scene in which two train passangers become implaled together by a pole during a giant crash.
 In order to save a life, the other had to die. That episode in particular was very emotional and I am not afraid to admit that tears were shed in my apartment.

Another standout episode came from [guest star] Christina Ricci's character. The girl had a bomb INSIDE of her that had to be removed before everyone in the hospital would be caught in the explosion. Talk about intense. That show was FULL of intensity. And the cliffhangers made you scream at your TV, making it unbearable for you to get through the week, without seeing the conclusion.

Sometime after Season 3 I lost interest in the show. Characters left, new characters were introduced and it seemed that the writers had lost their spark. How many love trinagle episodes can you do all over again before the audience has had enough, right? Currently in its fifth season, Grey's Anatomy continues to entertain a large audience, although nowhere near as big as it did in 2005-2006. I haven't seen any recent episodes, but I am curious to see if the plots became fresh and new again.

DJ Rossstar
Grey's Anatomy

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
October 08, 2009
I was hooked from the first episode because it was more character-based than most medical dramas, but since the second season the show's really drifted into melodramatic soap opera territory. It's still fun to watch, but I miss the more serious and realistic tone of the show before all the doctors were hooking up and having near-death experiences, personal revelations, and all that stuff.
 
May 03, 2009
I never thought I'd hear a guy say, "I'll never forget watching the premiere of Grey's Anatomy on March 27th, 2005." Ha ha! All my girlfriends love this show.
 
1
More Grey's Anatomy reviews
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
There was a little lull in seasons 4+5, but otherwise...PHENOMENAL. Episodes can be watched over and over again and get the same reaction. This show will be taked about for years to come!
Quick Tip by . February 07, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
I'm totally addicted to this show, but I wish that they would go back to where they started off. I can't believe they killed George! : (
review by . May 01, 2009
Can I blame it on allergies? Nope. No can do. I'm crying in my cubicle at lunch because I'm catching up on last night's episode of Grey's. I have been a fan of Grey's since the very beginning. I love the drama. I love the triangles and constantly changing relationships. Some may view it as over the top but I find it particularly interesting and relevant. Maybe it's because I enjoy surrounding myself with many personalities and this show gives me yet another view.     I love Grey's …
About the reviewer
DJ Rossstar ()
Music is my life. It's almost all I think about. I'm here to talk music with you. I I'm a new edition to the Lunch team, but promise to be just as helpful with almost anything/everything that you need. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
DJRossstar
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Medical drama which takes place at Seattle Grace Hospital in Washington. Follow the personal and work lives of these interns and residents as they work to become doctors.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: March 27, 2005
Description: Medical Drama taking place at Seattle Grace Hospital
Genre: Medical Drama, Comedy, Drama
Studio: ABC Studio, Touchstone
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists