Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!
House

A TV show starring Hugh Laurie

< read all 27 reviews

House...The game is afoot!

  • Mar 3, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
The televisions show house is a modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  Gregory House is the Sherlock Holmes character, who uses his genious level knowledge of all things medical and deductive reasoning to solve various "cases" presented in each episode.

Sherlock Holmes had an addiction to Cocaine and Morphine.  House is addicted to Vicodan and other painkillers.  Sherlock had his foil in Dr. John H. Watson, a friend and steady voice of reason.  House has his reparte with Dr. James Wilson (note the similarity in names here:  House/Holmes Watson/Wilson.)   Holmes would often engage with his nemisis Professor Moriarty.  Dean of Medicine Dr. Lisa Cuddy  could be said to represent the dual roles of Moriarty and Irene Adler (the only woman said to have impressed Holmes, and whom Holmes held a longing for.)   Both Holmes and House use deductive reasoning to solve their cases.  

Conan Doyle invented the whole field of forensic sciences with his Sherlock Holmes fiction, a field that is integral to almost all criminal cases today.  It could be that the the writers of House may be inventing a new field of medicine in which highly trained medical practitioners form brain trusts to solve medical cases.  Only time will tell.  It is also interesting to note that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was also a physician.

House is a well written, acted, and directed television series.   It does proud service to it's progenitor, the Sherlock Holmes series of novels. 
House...The game is afoot! House...The game is afoot!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
April 22, 2012
Well conveyed!
 
January 04, 2012
Excellent review! I have not seen this show but I may tune in to check it out.
 
September 13, 2011
It never occurred to me the similarity between the two! I used to watch House, but I got tired of his nastiness to others; it got old for me. Very nice review - I enjoyed it!!
 
December 14, 2010
GREAT review and comparison. I never thought of that correlation, thanks for bringing it up! This would be a really cool addition to my Pass the Remote! Community.
 
March 03, 2010
Whoa, too cool!  I did not know that House was based off of Sherlock Holmes, but now that you mention it, I really see the similarities.  Conan Doyle may have revolutionized the field of forensic sciences... but do we really need doctors breaking into houses? ;P

By the way, I think you might be interested in these reviews of Sherlock Holmes, the movie.  Thanks for sharing, Michael! :)
March 03, 2010
How else are you going to solve the mystery of the non stop hiccups if you don't skirt a few constitutional rights? It is also a good idea to test for everything and apply all pharmaceutical remedies in the off chance that one might work. The show is... wait... OMG I've got blood pouring out of my eyesockets and my legs suddenly don't work! Code 10 stat!
March 04, 2010
You've got a point there :P
 
1
More House reviews
review by . December 02, 2009
 What gives a show longevity in my opinion is how well it can hold up with each new season and what it does to keep it's basic premise and formula from getting too stale. While I love House to death, it wasn't without it's problems in seasons three through five. The formula almost became, in the words of a friend, "a parody of itself." Couldn't have agreed more. What surprised me the most about this most recent season, however, is that the makers decided to go places with the characters …
Quick Tip by . November 05, 2010
I admit I said I was getting tired of House's attitude on previous seasons, and last year I missed all of the episodes, but now I am getting too curious as to what I have missed! LOL I think that maybe after watching so many reruns of House, I got tired of it. I intend to start watching it again this season, and just skip all the reruns and House marathons! Thank you guys for making me interested in the show again!!
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
I can't help feeling it was better in the earlier series--or even it was fantastic in the earlier series. I loved the way each episode was like a well structured story in itself.
review by . June 10, 2010
   I just finally caught up on House and watched the finale on Hulu last night. I felt as if it was just another episode, finales usually stand out and apart, bu this was a little disappointing. I guess they writers considered the big crane crash a dramatic end, but all I have to say is if Cuddy and House did not kiss it would not have been anything special.      I acknowledge that there was also his breakdown about his leg, but honestly, same old stuff, we all know …
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
I used to watch House faithfully, as I really enjoyed his character and smart-ass remarks, but have since lost my interest - it seems his character was getting more unrealistic as time went on; he has become too self-centered and selfish and the things he gets by with as a Doctor are just not feasible; working in a hospital for years myself, no doctor would be able to pull off what he does without getting canned. House's attitude just got old really quick for me.
Quick Tip by . August 16, 2010
Good show but I got tired of it. Didn't watch it last year.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Formulaic but enjoyable. I'm not satisfied with only subtext fanservice and innuendo.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
Awesome show, it covers so many different aspects of life besides just the hospital setting. The character House is amazing.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
just ok
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I am a medical student and watching House is very interesting to hear. Great show and fun storyline!
About the reviewer
Michael Hurley ()
Member Since: Mar 3, 2010
Last Login: Mar 5, 2010 07:34 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
basedrop
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki


From Fox's website:

HOUSE, an innovative take on the medical drama, is a series in which the villain is a medical malady and the hero is an irreverent, controversial doctor who trusts no one, least of all his patients.

HOUSE has been honored with four Emmy Awards, including an award for creator and executive producer David Shore (Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series). The series has been honored with 23 Emmy Award nominations, including four for Outstanding Drama Series and five for Hugh Laurie (Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series). The series received the 2006 Humanitas Prize for the episode "Three Stories" and four Humanitas finalist honors, one each for the 2009 episode "Unfaithful," the 2007 episode "House vs. God" and the 2005 episodes "Everybody Lies" and "Damned If You Do."

Additionally, HOUSE received two Golden Globe Awards for Laurie (Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series) and two Screen Actors Guild Awards for Laurie (Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Drama Series) as well as a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination (Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series); three Golden Globe Award nominations for Best Television Series, Drama; three NAACP Image Award nominations for Outstanding Drama Series; and two NAACP Image Awards for Omar Epps (Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series).

The show has also been honored by the American Film Institute as one of the TV Programs ...

view wiki

Details

Description: A comedy centered around the antics of Dr. House
Genre: Comedy
Starring: Hugh Laurie

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists