Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!
So you think you can dance

An American Dance Reality Show broadcast on the Fox Network

< read all 3 reviews

So I Wish I Could Dance Like That!

  • Jun 11, 2009
Rating:
+5
I cannot tell you guys how ECSTATIC I am that So You Think You Can Dance is here. Every Wednesday and Thursday at 8p, I put everything away and glue myself to Fox for my favorite post-Idol addiction. I have loved dancing all my life. As someone who watches others for dancing inspiration, this show has made me a better dancer. I am a freestyle dancer- one who mixes all different styles to go along with whatever song is playing. This show finds some way to combine all the beauty of dance into a couple of hours:

CHOREOGRAPHY:
You have some of the best choreographers in the world creating masterpieces that you wouldn't be able to see for free ANYWHERE. You might be able to catch a ballroom competition for at least $150 a piece, you can see freestyle, breakdancing battles for $10-$30, you can go to a Broadway show or its equivalent for $50-$100+ but, where can you see all of this and more in one show for free?

TALENT:
Much like what American Idol does for unknowns, SYTYCD provides a platform for unknown dancers to dance in front of dance legends like Debbie Allen, Wade Robson, Shane Sparks and current choreographers/directors such as Mia Michaels. The show also gives much deserved attention to choreographers like Mia Michaels who won an Emmy for her Contemporary routine as well as Tyce Diorio. Also, to Tabitha and Napolean (aka NappyTabs), somewhat unknown until this show, they are a married couple who has done some of the best hip-hop routines I've seen. Then, there's just the way these people can move their bodies and take you on a journey through dance in the most wonderfully cathartic way.

MUSIC:
Every week as part of the stall process to fill the full time slot and build suspense in typical reality, competitive show style, there's a special musical guest straight off the charts. This might just be my one gripe about the show and the one time that I'll turn on my laptop. What does this have to do with dancing? It'd be different if the contestants had choreographed a piece to the song and acted as back-up dancers, but usually the guests have very little dancing. The one exception is that now they include "professionals" that do a routine but, somehow it has less pizazz than the show's choreographers. However, the music they choose for the routines is a whole other matter- they usually find current or all-time favorites to slip into the routine, which makes it even more enjoyable because the music isn't too obscure.

FAMILY FRIENDLY:
My 8-year-old niece called me last night to make sure I was watching it. She then told me she loved the hip-hop piece that Philip and Jeanine had done WAY BETTER than the Chicago-inspired Broadway piece that Asuka and Vitolio danced. What about me? I just smiled and said, "Jenna, I TOTALLY agree!"




This is the one show on television that makes me say, if I was Jenna's age and had seen this show, I'd be on a completely different path right now. However, being 31, I'm past the show's age limit which is 30, much to the dismay of some of my friends. After every show, I sigh wistfully and then, get up and dance.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
19
Well-Organized
19
Post a Comment
January 24, 2010
Nice review. Perhaps my only three television weaknesses are reality shows ... So You think You Can Dance, American Idol and Survivor. OK ... you can all quit laughing now! :-)
January 25, 2010
Oh, I'm right there with you and mine are way worse...at least your choices have some kind of substance. I also indulge in Jersey Shore which has no substance at all except to make me laugh at the ridiculousness of it.
January 25, 2010
Those are my guilty pleasures. But I'll admit I also thoroughly enjoy a few of the specialty channels ... A&E, Discovery, the Space Channel and the Outdoors Network. A Canadian show called Survivorman is one of my favourites.
January 27, 2010
I'm a sucker for wedding shows (mainly cuz I'm planning my own), food shows and Dog Whisperer (don't know why...hoping to one day get a puppy LOL). A&E has fascinating shows. I've never heard of Survivorman, do we get it in the states? It sounds intriguing!
January 27, 2010
Hmmm ... no idea if it's carried in the States or not. Here's his website http://lesstroud.ca/survivorman/episodes.php
 
January 24, 2010
I'm not a dancer but hey, everyone can enjoy a great dance! I do enjoy figure skating and ice dancing, A lot!!! :-)
January 25, 2010
I like ice skating/dancing as well- so graceful and beautiful. And yes, I think everyone can appreciate dance, and you don't have to be a dancer to do so!
 
September 30, 2009
We're on Tuesday and Wednesday this week just to see if they can throw us off!
September 30, 2009
I never saw that comment below LOL...and damn it, I knew it. I was passing a billboard last night and it said tonight which confused me. Luckily for myself I have DVR and there's no way that show's coming off of it, unless @Nando1 doesn't want to get married or live LOL...I've got some catching up to do. Did you get to see it?
September 30, 2009
I taped last night's and watched it today. I'll probably watch tonight's live.
September 30, 2009
Yeah...I'll have to wait to get off work now and watch last night's before tonight's....guess I'm not doing laundry!
September 30, 2009
wHO NEEDS TO SMELL GOOD ANYHOW?!
 
July 16, 2009
ARE YOU READY FOR SOME DANCING!!
 
June 17, 2009
I'm presuming that you guys are going to be glued to your tv set tonight too! I've got to go feed my daughter's cats and get everything ready so that nothing will interrupt the show tonight.
June 17, 2009
Definitely! My boyfriend has the night off and wanted to spend some quality time...oh, poor man- he has no idea. I should tell him, "we can have all the QT you want but, not at 8p!" LOL...
June 17, 2009
I don't think he'd consider watching th show to be quality time then?
June 17, 2009
No, he wouldn't, silly man! I tried to make a SYTYCD ExhilaRATE game but, the cast photos on the site are all 147x147 and I need them to be 150x150 LOL...I shall find a way when I get a second hopefully!
June 17, 2009
They don't have to split up the couples because both Tony and his partner went home, right?
June 18, 2009
I'm not sure if it worked out that way or not, but they voted on them as indivuals--one girl and one guy. Whether it worked out that they were partners or not I can't remember. But then they didn't comment tonight on the fact that anyone was working with a new partner so maybe it did work out that way after all.
June 18, 2009
The boyfriend and cocktails on the beach won and I have to resort to watching it tonight before judging! I'm so glad there's DVR where you can record the entire series!
June 18, 2009
Oh no! Well, as long as there's a way to record it. I don't think my boy Evan did too well. I think he may be in the bottom 3 tonight.
June 18, 2009
Uh-oh...I hope not! I'll have to give you my full diagnosis tomorrow LOL!
June 25, 2009

So what did you think of this week's show? I thought it was a shame that Evan didn't draw the routine that Phillip wound up with since he was a natural for a Gene Kelly Donald O' Connor number. It came off rather badly the way Phillip did it it but he's so popular that it won't matter.

'

t

June 25, 2009
I was able to watch half of what I had recorded before getting to bed and I completely agree with you. That Ty routine would've been PERFECT for Evan and it would've been much more fun to watch. I would love for them to be switching up partners right about now, this is the longest that I've seen the same couples together. I was upset that Karla didn't get the kudos she deserved for her hip-hop routine because they were so focused on her partner, who is not my favorite, and how badly he did. I felt so bad for her because she's in a well known hip-hop/breakdancing group that was on MTV's America's Best Dance Crew. So long comment longer LOL..I'll have to wait until tomorrow to see if I agree with America and to see who my favorites were! AND Evan did do a great job with the routine he had- that was my favorite that I had seen! So, he won't be in the bottom three.
June 25, 2009

Karla and her partner will probably wind up in the bottom 3 but there's no doubt that she will survive. I think Evan will probably be there because the routine he had didn't give him much to do and those baggy clothes covered up what he WAS doing, but I think he'll survive and Karla's partner will bite the dust. At least I'm hoping that's what will happen. He deserves to go. Even I could see how badly out of sync he was. Did you really like Evan's routine that much? All I could think of was how those baggy clothes were obscuring his movements, that and how much more I would have liked to see him doing Phillip's routine!

D

June 25, 2009
I watched his routine before I had seen Philip's routine, luckily otherwise I would've thought the same thing. I liked it but, was probably focusing more on his partner than him because she stole the spotlight from him. I was bummed about Kaitlyn's Paso Doble and agreed with the judges, they were playing to the audience too much. So I think they'll be in the bottom three too. You are right though- those baggy clothes were completely covering up his movements.
June 25, 2009
The audience just went wild over the Paso though so I think they're going to be safe. I kind of get turned off sometimes when they take a number like that and turn it into something that looks like it came out of a video game. I really do like seeing that particular dance performed in a more traditional manner because its so damned sexy.
June 25, 2009
Oh, I couldn't agree more- the Rumba was much better last night and it would've been cool to see the slow sensuality of the Rumba against the rough passion of the Paso. I like my Pasos rough and full of power that every move forward is like an attack on the other person- I like to see the dancers looking at each other as if they could kill each other because they're so in love. Does that make sense? That's just how I've always viewed the Paso...the man whipping the woman as if she was his red cape in front of a raging bull...
June 25, 2009
I actually thought the costumes were funny and made me think a little of Princess Leia and Jabba the Hut....
June 25, 2009
Yeah sort of sci-fi or heroic fantasy. It just looked too silly to me. Very distracting.
June 26, 2009
I'm a little shocked that Asuka (sp?) was eliminated but, am grateful that Johathon is gone- he isn't as good as the other guys....and your Evan is SAFE! Yay...so I can now tell you that my favorite routine of the week is DEFINITELY Brandon and Karla. That was amazing!
June 26, 2009
I had my name's confused but otherwise things turned out sort of like I thought they would. Although I admit to being sort of surprised (and very pleased) that the viewing audience didn't like that Paso as much as the studio audience did! They made the right decision there! I mixed up Karla with someone else. I can see why you liked her routine. Iys funny that I did that since I knew exactly who she was the week before. Another senior moment. Asuka surprised me a bit too. I guess there weren't enough straight guys out there casting votes for the hot Asian chick to keep them out of the bottom 3.
June 26, 2009
Haha! Oh, no you know who I meant- see, I had a senior moment and I'm 31 LOL...I meant to say Brandon and Jeanine...the Dave Scott routine with the rocker chick and hip-hop guy. LOL...I forgot what Karla did!
June 26, 2009
We're all going downhill rapidly!
 
June 16, 2009
So, i should add that the video comes courtesy of YouTube but, inspired by @Husher315!
 
June 15, 2009
Great Review!! So far me and my fiances favorites are Caitlin and Philip!
June 16, 2009
I love Philip because I'm a hip-hop freestyle dancer so I'm biased! Caitlin is just AMAZING for not even wanting to be on the show at first. I'm still trying to figure my favorite girl out- there's SO many contemporary to wade through. I love the fact that Melissa is the oldest and that she's a ballerina- it adds a whole new graceful dimension to the show. Thanks!
 
June 11, 2009
So who do you like so far? I'm afraid my favorite is probably going to wash out pretty quickly, not because he isn't good (he's great) but because he's not cool enough for the show's demographic.  I was literally sickened when Alex Wong couldn't get out of his contract with the Miami Ballet because I was really looking forward to seeing him compete! I wonder how long that contract runs.
June 11, 2009
I KNOW! Did you see his face?!? Can you imagine, working so hard and having the judges saying that your mentor said that you couldn't get out of your contract? I think he has another year, so he should be back- at least, that's what Nigel said. I just LOVED that hip-hop routine that Paris and Philip did but, I'm a little biased. I think there's so much talent this season. I have quite a few favorites, which one is yours that you think is going to wash out early?
June 11, 2009
Evan. I loved him last year and he never made it our of the top 40. This year he auditioned with his brother Ryan. Evan reminds me of Gene Kelly lite. I'd love to see what he could do if he stayed around long enough because he's very pliable and most adaptable. Unfortunately he's very short.
June 12, 2009
that's true but, he was VERY good much to the amazement of the judges last night. I'm glad they paired him with the other shorty LOL but, when they switch partners he may be in danger!
June 12, 2009
That's for sure. But still he's a very good dancer. Both Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly were a good 2" shorter than their favorite dance partner. Of course we're dealing with more than that here.
 
1
More So You Think You Can Dance reviews
review by . June 15, 2009
So You Think You Can Dance Logo
When I used to go to sleep away camp as a young lad, I used to to join the dance team when we had color wars.  I had a lot of fun doing it, but that doesn't mean I can dance now.  I never thought about it as something I would pursue, but I always had an admiration for really good dancers.  My cousin used to take me to the Philadelphia Ballet every year to see The Nutcracker and I always looked forward to it.  When I first heard about a Dance show that was coming onto the television …
Quick Tip by . December 17, 2009
Season finale TONIGHT...all bets are on Russell but, @QUEENBFLIX and I think that poor Jacob got looked over...
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #3
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

So You Think You Can Dance is a summer hit dancing show on Fox hosted by Cat Deeley. Throughout the show, dancers skilled in numerous styles, ranging from hip-hop to ballroom will compete from all over the country to be named America's Favorite Dancer.

The show was created by Simon Fuller and Nigel Lythgoe and comes from 19 Entertainment, Ltd. and Dick Clark Productions. It is executive-produced by Simon Fuller, Nigel Lythgoe and Barry Adelman.

view wiki

Tags

Music, Tv Shows, Tv, Dance, Reality, Reality Show, So You Think You Can Dance

Details

Premiere Date: July 20th 2005
Description: Weekly Dance Competition. You choose Americas next favorite dancer!
Genre: Reality, Dance
Studio: 20th Century Fox Televi
Original Air Date: July 20th 2005
DVD Release Date: N/A
Polls with this tv show
America's Got Talent Judges

Favorite Competition Series

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists