Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!
The Prisoner

A BBC TV series starring Patrick McGoohan, in which a resigned spy wakes up to find himself in a mysterious authoritarian-run village.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Aug 28, 2009
One of the coolest and most complex spy series ever created, and a cult classic for sure, about an agent who must escape "The Village".
Intertitle
Easily one of the most imaginative and formula-defying shows ever created. Don't take my word for it. And remember, "Be seeing you."
Patrick McGoohan as No. 6
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
August 06, 2010
"Who is Number One?" "You Are Number Six!"
August 06, 2010
"I am not a number, I am a free man!"
August 06, 2010
Those were the days. =)
August 06, 2010
Nostalgia kick?
August 06, 2010
sigh. We thought TV was really gonna change back then because of show like this.
August 06, 2010
Well, shows became more complex and less original. So it did change, just not necessarily for the better.
August 06, 2010
Of course we meant "for the better."
August 06, 2010
I'm going to risk sounding cynical here, but how often is change for the better? Either things stay about the same or they escalate to worse.
August 06, 2010
It was the 60s. We believed things like that back then.
August 07, 2010
Yeah, naivete was kind of a virtue during the hippie age, wasn't it? Must have been the drugs.
August 08, 2010
That's when we were still calling it optimism. Wasn't the drugs though. It was left over from when the movement began in the 50s and when Kennedy took office.
August 08, 2010
Eh, depends on how you view it. I don't think that the movement ever really began or will ever really end. It's inherent to our nature and our need for freedom and equality. It's been part of us since the beginning. We just put labels on it and divided it into illusory and erroneous time periods.
August 09, 2010
Let's just say that it's been more obvious at certain times than at others.
August 09, 2010
You mean when the two contrary elements of human society clash together... and those who favor freedom manage to speak louder than those who believe in profit? ; )
August 10, 2010
Like when a president who was an inactive member of the KKK gets pissed off about black soldiers returning from the war not being treated the same as their white counterparts.
August 10, 2010
Would it be unconstitutional to send white supremacists on suicide missions to other planets? LOL! By the way, which president was this?
August 11, 2010
We could send tell them that there are aliens of color we neeed them to kill. The president was Truman. Back then hesaid you could even open a business unless you were a member.
 
1
More The Prisoner reviews
review by . August 31, 2009
This was a very unique, British show which lasted for 17 episodes in 1967-1968.The opening sequence and music are great! It starred and was co-produced by Patrick McGoohan (one of my favorite actors).The show has an Orwellian plot-line concerning a British secret-agent (McGoohan) who resigns in anger and wakes up to find himself held prisoner in a seemingly idyllic completely isolated coastal town called "The Village" from which there is no escape. Defiance of authority,resistance to indoctrination, …
About the reviewer

Ranked #11
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

So far as its legions of fans are concerned, The Prisoner was the most fascinating and intellectually challenging sci-fi/fantasy program ever put on the air. Produced in England, the series was the brainchild of actor Patrick McGoohan, who also played the central character. During the opening credits, An unidentified McGoohan was seen angrily resigning his unspecified high-level government job, only to be promptly drugged, kidnapped and spirited off to a mysterious, Orwellian community known only as The Village. Though allowed to freely roam the colorful grounds of his new home (which resembled a lavish seaside resort, coupled with a garish amusement pier), the protagonist -- now referred to only as "Number Six" -- could not escape, lest he be chased down and killed by a huge, balloonlike sphere known as a Rover. On each 60-minute episode, Number Six was confronted by "the new Number Two", whose job it was to extract vital information from our hero (though just what sort of information was never explained). Defiantly shouting "I am not a number! I am a free man!", Number Six succeeded in confounding the efforts by Number Two -- and the never-seen Number One -- to break him down. Throughout his bizarre and oftimes hallucinatory adventures, Number Six learned two valuable lessons: To stubbornly maintain his individuality at all times and all costs, and to trust absolutely no one, not even his faithful butler, an enigmatically mute dwarf (Angelo ...
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: September 29, 1967
Description: A former British spy awakes to find himself a prisoner in an isolated village.
Genre: Intelligent Science Fiction , Espionage , Political and Social Satire, Drama, Cult Classic
Studio: BBC TV, ITC Entertainment, A&E Home Video
Original Air Date: September 29, 1967 - February 1, 1968
Starring: Patrick McGoohan
DVD Release Date: September 25, 2001; July 25, 2006; October 27, 2009
Lists with this tv show
Polls with this tv show
First to Review

"The Prisoner"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists