The Rice Table
Asia delights! Exotic, hot & sensational FOOD!

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Nov 30, 2011
  • by
  • posted in Gourmand
Great when you are making soup laced with Guava. Fish head is where all the flavor is at; I actually use a fish head to make my dishes and then remove it when I am about to serve guests.

All I can say is: Don't knock it until you've tried it. (some) Fish eyeballs are tasty too!

P.S. Piranha is also great for grilling (no kidding)

Caption Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
December 01, 2011
Eyeballs are the only portions of an aquatic noggin that I enjoy directly, but fish heads are the most criminally misunderstood and underrated means to impart terrific seafood flavor to soup. To find somebody who also affirms this feels refreshing!
December 01, 2011
Thanks for the read! I too find it refreshing that I am not the only one who enjoys it :)
 
November 30, 2011
You need to cook for me Woo - this looks amazing, but I'm glad you take the head out before serving LOL - I'll try anything once!!
November 30, 2011
I know, it is all about presentation when serving guests. But when you are with Filipinos, we tend to fight over the head LOL!
November 30, 2011
I've never heard of eating fish heads Will - here in WV the choices are limited LOL but I never turn down a food I've never had before! I wouldn't want the head though - I'd prefer it headless while you presented it to me - I ever come ti California I'm looking you up!! LOL
 
November 30, 2011
Guava soup? That sounds amazing! I hear the eye balls are amazing, but I haven't tried it yet. I'm more of a cheeks kind of girl :P I love fish head hot pot, too! Have you ever had?
November 30, 2011
I love cheeks and the guava soup is just fabulous with salmon or milkfish. Yes, on the hot pot; I love that stuff. The eyeballs are real good when it is soft or crunchy.
 
1
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #3
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Rice Table is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists