The Rice Table
Asia delights! Exotic, hot & sensational FOOD!
RICE

A cereal grain a staple food for a large part of the world's human population.

< read all 4 reviews

Rice...Rice...Rice...BABY!! My LOVE ♥ AFFAIR With Rice....

  • Mar 7, 2010
Rating:
+5

Rice is defined as the starchy seeds or grain of an annual marsh grass, Oryza sativa, cultivated in warm climates and used for food. Whatever the case may be, rice made its presence known in different cultures as part of dining. Asians most especially regard rice as the most essential part of their dining table, it is a fantastic companion to accentuate the flavors of Asian cuisine.

 
There are many types of rice; there is the American long-grain rice, the Asian Jasmine rice, wag-wag, sticky rice, and many others. Gosh last time I went to Asia in 2006, I found markets selling 15 different types of Jasmine rice…quality differs the more expensive they are. I’ll give you a smart tip: It isn’t the price that is most important but the amount a rice grain can hold.
 
We see rice in different Ethnic dining tables. Us Filipinos eat rice just about every chance we get. I do like making a mix of Jasmine and Brown rice from time to time. It makes it more healthy and more delicious. Now, this write up isn’t about the origins of rice but rather some different of the rice “applications” that I have come across.
 
Rice in the traditional Filipino Breakfast:
I don’t do breakfast (coffee is good for me) but “Pinoys” like to do a “Brunch” quite a lot. The honey pork or marinated beef (Tapa) makes for a great combination with fried eggs topped onto a scoop of rice. Hawaiians also use the rice in their “Loco-Moco” . Ever hear of sweet rice on chocolate called “champorado”? 

    

                 
Rice as dessert and a snack:
Sweet rice is utilized for different filling deserts such as different pastries and cakes. There’s the Maja Blanca, the Mochi, cassava and many others.



  
Sticky Rice in Sushi.
I love sushi and I just cannot get enough of it. I really enjoy the authentic Japanese sushi rather than the more “American” versions. Regardless, rice serves to ‘beautify’ sushi…after all, sushi wouldn’t be sushi without rice. Korean purple rice also makes the dish plate very attractive (great with Sea weed)



 







Rice in soups:
Porridge and congee are some of the many rice applications in Asian cuisine. Porridge is great for those stricken with the flu. Indian and Arab cuisine combine rice with different types of meat, milk and honey.

 
 
Now we get to the healthiest “incarnation” of rice. Brown rice. Its origins can be traced to rice shortages in history but it has been proven to be very healthy and is a little more expensive than the more common white rice. Japanese call it “genmai”, Koreans call it “hyeonmi’ and the Chinese call it “pinyin”.



Let's not forget the FRIED RICE and its many varietions...garlic fried rice, Bar-b-q pork, shrimp and curry!!

 

 
 
Regardless, what culture. Rice is a part of the dinner table. I love rice and I cannot imagine a week without partaking of this spectacular grain!

Rice is SUPOIB!!!!
Rice...Rice...Rice...BABY!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
March 16, 2010
Garlic fried rice? That sounds great. I really love coconut rice but the boys hate it so Rob rarely makes it. He makes rice with everything including Thanksgiving turkey. =) Right there next to the dressing and the yams my daughter likes.
March 17, 2010
Garlic fried rice is pretty easy to make and real good too. You can enhance it with Chinese chorizos, peas and eggs too. Coconut fried rice? How did I forget that? Want my own personal touch?
March 18, 2010
Actually Rob's isn't fried, it's just coconut rice. But tell me what coconut milk tastes like. I still need something that will add a coconut taste to things. I'm doctoring up frozen dinners to taste like restaurant stuff. (I really hate to cook--results of a 3rd degree burn)
 
March 10, 2010
I could live off of different rice dishes without ever getting bored. Yummy, I mean good review.
March 15, 2010
tried sweet rice with cocoa?
March 15, 2010
Nope. Is it good?
March 18, 2010
hells yes! I'll post the recipe soon enough. I promised Ula after all.
 
March 08, 2010
Jebus, this all looks delicious!  Makes the leftover Chinese that I'm eating right now look like... doo doo :P It's funny how I absolutely use to hate white rice when I was a little kid, but now I can't get enough of it.  Thanks for sharing, Woo!
March 09, 2010
I know that feeling, used to hate bittermelon now I love it! Have you had sweet rice with cocoa? I'll try to help out other communities this week, and wait till you see what I have in store for one of your Gourmand community :-P
March 17, 2010
TU LAN review is coming...hey, "hole in the wall" places can be part of GOURMAND right?
March 17, 2010
Ooooh, as long as it's tasty and not fast food, it's welcomed! Hmmmm, maybe we should start a Best of SF community :P
March 27, 2010
hmm....that is a great idea. Oh, Tu Lan has just hit your community...compliments of yours truly LOL! My first restaurant review so please be kind. ;-)
 
March 08, 2010
Thanks!!! You deserve a big big kiss :D
March 09, 2010
(mmm-wha) I promised you a review for your community and I always keep my word. :-)
 
March 08, 2010
Ooo great review! I just recently began experimenting with sushi rice, and I've begun making my own fried rice to avoid getting take-out. Those are some appetizing pictures.
March 09, 2010
home made fried rice is always the way to go! I also like the sweet rice with cocoa...
March 10, 2010
I've never had sweet rice with cocoa. Sounds like nothing I've ever tasted. Is it simple to make? I love the mochi picture! I've been dying to try some, and have been scouring the Internet for vegan options :P
March 10, 2010
The sweet rice with cocoa is very simple. There are some instant ones but my mom always made them from scratch. I'll post the recipe real soon....I promise. ;-)
March 10, 2010
Haha, you kept your promise to Sharrie, so I believe you.
 
March 07, 2010
You're becoming a foodie, uh oh! Good write-up.
March 09, 2010
You know I can cook.
 
March 07, 2010
Rice is good stuff. I eat more of this staple than the traditional American potato. If it were not for french fries, my potato intake would be non-existent. I make my own version of pork fried rice at the house...just finished a batch off for lunch yesterday.
March 09, 2010
My friend, I could eat rice with nothing but soy sauce LOL! I make a killer curry fried rice!
 
1
More Rice reviews
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Rice is a food thats bland by itself but had anything you like to it and it could become the best dish in the house.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in The Rice Table
Rice is a staple in Asia but for dieters, it's a no-no, more fattening than fried chicken! Trust me, when on diet, no rice in the night!
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #3
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Rice is the seed of a monocot plant Oryza sativa. As a cereal grain, it is the most important staple food for a large part of the world's human population, especially in East, South, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the West Indies. It is the grain  with the second highest worldwide production, after maize ("corn").
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Rice Table is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists