The Rice Table
Asia delights! Exotic, hot & sensational FOOD!
sushi

Japanese food: small rice squares usually topped raw fish

< read all 19 reviews

Sushi for breakfast

  • Feb 25, 2010
Rating:
+5
The only place I've heard about having sushi for breakfast is at Tsukiji Fish Market, an area near to Ginza in Tokyo.
And have I had sushi for breakfast? Yep, at around 5.30 am, I do believe!

This is an experience anyone who has the love of sushi must definitely try when in Tokyo. There are lots to see and do in Tokyo so one might not be able to wake up so early (4 am! unless you stay up the whole night ;-)) to venture for sushi!




Tsukiji is a wholesale fish market where the wholesalers auction for their salmons and tunas every early morning. This is where you see all the fishes in their raw state! By that I don't even mean sashimi. I mean the entire fish before they are cut up into pieces. If you stay behind and walk around the marketplace, you'll also get to see these "samurai" performing their skills at deboning those huge tunas and salmons. Highly interesting! I've never seen such a long knife actually in practice anywhere else!

Tsukiji is the largest fish market in the world handling over 2000 tons of seafood daily. It is one of the finest tourist destinations if you have any interest in food and seafood.


Do you know that all fish has to be frozen first before they can be eaten raw (with the exception of tuna)? That's to kill the germs.
How about 80% of the bluefin tuna (maguro) catch is used for sushi?
& The sushi grade bluefin tuna highest price ever recorded at the Tsukiji Fish Market was $173,600 for a 444 lb fish? (ie. $391/lb) 
Incredible, isn't it? A fish costing as much as a house!



Tuna & Salmon are most common fishes found on the sushi plate. You can get them in all sushi houses. 

Types of Sushi:

Makizushi (or Makimono)
These are rolled sushi normally wrapped in nori (seaweed). A single roll order normally is cut into 6 or 8 pieces. Hosomaki (thin rolls) has a diameter of around 0.75" while Futomaki is about double that, ie. 1.5".

My favorites of these is Temaki. Temaki is handroll sushi in a large cone-shaped nori. This has to be eaten fresh or else the crisp nori will absorb moisture from the fillings making the texture and taste not so great.




Nigirizushi
Hand formed sushi. It takes an apprentice 10 years minimum to master this and it's been said that the chef's hands have to be of lower temperature (than normal) in order to prepare good sushi. Hence, many a times, they have to dip their hands in icy cold water before they begin making their sushi.

Common toppings are salmon, maguro (tuna), toro (tuna belly), hamachi (yellowtail), unagi (eel), ika (squid) & ebi (prawn).



Chirashizushi
Chirashizushi is a bowl of sushi rice with raw seafood on top of it. I much prefer nigirizushi than chirashizushi; hence, I hardly order this.



Inarizushi
This is sweet sushi and something I don't fancy. Fried tofu skin with just rice inside. 


Ok. That's it. The place to have sushi for breakfast & the kind of sushi you can order. Sushi is freshest here in early morning and there are plenty of tourists and locals alike who'd be here to sample the most delicious sushi for breakfast! Yum Yum!!!
Sushi for breakfast Sushi for breakfast Sushi for breakfast Sushi for breakfast

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
November 17, 2010
You have made me so hungry, great read.
 
February 25, 2010
nniicceee!!! I would love to have sushi for breakfast and maybe even tempura! Have you heard of this new wave thing in Japan that all the dishes had mayonnaise? The diners were called 'mayonara's"?
February 26, 2010
No, I haven't! I've to go visit Japan soon! I'm missing out all the actions! ;-)
 
February 25, 2010
Nice going, Sharrie.  I've been suffering from food poisoning for the past day or so, but reading your review has worked me up an appetite and I actually want sashimi right now!  I'd eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I wasn't afraid for food poisoning ;)  My mom has told me about the wonders of Tsukiji Fish Market.  I imagine that it's like the fish marts in Hong Kong, except on steroids.  Thanks for sharing, Sharrie! :)
February 25, 2010
First it was William & now you too? Wow, what have you both been eating? ;-) No, it's not quite like the fish marts in Hong Kong. Don't forget this is an auction house :-) It's truly interesting place!
February 25, 2010
organic pizza got me...the supposed "fresh" tomato sauce... :-(
February 25, 2010
I would love to witness a fish auction someday! Have you been to the fish marts in Hong Kong? It's crazy the things that they do to show you how fresh the fish is, like like it cut open on ice with a still beating heart. It's crazy and cruel, but that's part of the culture and thrill.

And I believe it was a chicken sandwich from Subway that got to me :(
 
1
More Sushi reviews
review by . May 29, 2009
Inspired by devora's guide to eating Dim Sum, my review will consist of the how-to's and in's and out's of eating sushi.    Disclaimer:  I am not Japanese.  So, I might not be 100% correct in all of the cultural nuances and etiquette when it comes to sushi.  But, I have been a sushi chef for about a year during my college years.  I've also had my share of sushi and have converted many "cooked sushi lovers" to die-hard raw fish eaters.   Sit at the …
review by . August 21, 2008
sushi plate
Liking sushi is probably an acquired taste, but it doesn't take long. Once you get past raw fish phobia, you will love it.  Something aboutthe deadly combination of perfectly prepared seasoned rice, fresh fish,stinging wasabi (Japanese horse radish), and some soy sauce gets youtotally hooked.    Honestly, I don't understand the mental block people have with rawfish.  Rare steak dripping with blood seems to pose much greaterpsychological challenge than almost pretty …
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
MORE!
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
I only like the all-veggie and shrimp ones becuase raw fish freaks me out!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Oh nasty.
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
Scared to death to eat Sushi
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
A must have with Sushi is pickled ginger. No gluten involved there!! ;)
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
Yummy sushi! A great alternative to soy sauce is lemon juice and wasabi. Brings out a wonderful flavor in the fish.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
Sushi is great but avoid the Soy sauce which is frequently derived from soy beans and wheat, so will contain gluten
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in The Rice Table
Oh how I love sushi! It's filling, but still healthy. I need to learn how to make the rolls! My faves: spicy tuna rolls, yellowtail & eel!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
Uni
Uni
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

In Japanese cuisine, sushi is vinegar rice, usually topped with other ingredients, including fish dishes.

Sliced raw fish alone is called sashimi, as distinct from sushi. Combined with hand-formed clumps of rice it is called nigirizushi ; sushi items served rolled inside or around nori (dried and pressed layer sheets of seaweed or algae) is makizushi, toppings stuffed into a small pouch of fried tofu is inarizushi; and toppings served scattered over a bowl of sushi rice called chirashi-zushi.

Sushi Glossary

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Rice Table is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists