The Rice Table
Asia delights! Exotic, hot & sensational FOOD!

Grilled!

  • Feb 26, 2010
Rating:
+5
Yakitori can be had at the basement of those big departmental stores when one ran out of time shopping! I did that many times during my short stayover in Tokyo.

Yakitori meaning grilled chicken in Japanese. Almost all parts of the chicken can be served to diners, including the chicken tail & bone cartilage. I haven't tried the tail but I love the cartilage. Other offals including heart, liver, gizzard, skin & intestines may be ordered. 

Some of my favorites are:
Nankotsu (Chicken Cartilage)

Hatsu / Kokoro (Chicken heart)

Sunagimo / Zuri (Chicken Gizzard)

Shiro (Chicken small intestine)

Gyutan (Ox tongue)



Gyutan is a favorite of the Tohoku area. I haven't seen it around Tokyo but have tried it at a restaurant in Sendai. I've always love Ox tongue and it is especially great when barbecued like in Sate Padang.


Yakitori is especially great with Kirin Beer & Sapporo Beer. It is often served with tare sauce or simply salt and lemon juice. Tare sauce is made up of sake, soy sauce, sugar & mirin. Tare sauce may be a little salty, that's why it's best with beer and also lemonade or a grapefruit juice which I love! Itadakimasu!!!
Grilled! Grilled!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 28, 2010
omg, all those "exotic" chicken innard kabobs look delicious! ;D
February 28, 2010
They certainly are, Debbie! I hope you've recovered from your food poisoning, if not, more congee for you :-)
 
February 26, 2010
Looking at your pictures make my mouth waters.....good read with a grumbling stomach!
February 28, 2010
Great that you like Yakitori! Hm, how come I never knew that?! :-)
 
February 26, 2010
I like all kinds of Yakitori but the authentic ones are usually the ones I need to make myself. SF restaurants are catered to its consumers so if I want gizzard or intestine yakitori I just make 'em! Nice one, Sharrie!!
February 26, 2010
That's great! Next time you're making them, give me a buzz! I'll be over in no time, hehe... Thanks in advance ;-)
February 26, 2010
sure! after that bout with food poisoning...I am back to cooking the majority of my meals!
February 26, 2010
Sounds like a real bad one!!! Organic tomato sauce? LOL...
 
1
More Yakitori reviews
Quick Tip by . February 26, 2010
Japanese kebab at its best! A favorite with many Japanese especially with beers and cold sake. Yakitori means grilled chicken(meat & offal)
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

 Yakitori (焼き鳥 or やきとり?)grilled chicken, is a Japanese type of skewered chicken.

It is made from several bite-sized pieces of chicken meat, or chicken offal, skewered on a bamboo skewer and barbecued, usually over charcoal.

Diners ordering yakitori usually have a choice of having it served with salt (and sometimes lemon juice) or with tare sauce, which is generally made up ofmirinsakesoy sauce and sugar. If tare sauce is specified, the skewers are repeatedly dipped into a tall pot containing the sauce (usually twice, but occasionally three times) during the grilling process.

  • hatsu (ハツ) or kokoro (こころ), chicken heart
  • rebā (レバー), liver
  • sunagimo (砂肝), or zuri (ずり) chicken gizzard
  • tsukune (つくね), chicken meatballs
  • (tori)kawa ((とり)かわ) chicken skin, grilled until crispy
  • tebasaki (手羽先), chicken wing
  • negima (ねぎ間), chicken and welsh onion
  • bonjiri (ぼんじり), chicken tail
  • shiro (シロ), chicken small intestines
  • ikada (筏) (lit. raft), Japanese scallion, with two skewers to prevent rotation
  • gyūtan (牛タン), ox tongue, sliced thinly
  • nankotsu, chicken cartilage
  • toriniku, Free Range “Chicken of the Earth" (all white meat on skewer)
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Grilled!"
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Rice Table is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists