Trader Joes Moms
A Lunch Community

TJ's Steel Cut Oats: Quick and Tasty Oatmeal.

  • Aug 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
After reading an article about how steel cut is better than regular rolled oats, I decided that I would give it a shot after I ran out of my usual Quaker Oats.  I had never really investigated all these different oats, so I had no idea.  I guess it's like the difference between white and wheat bread, and white and brown rice.  Whatever, I'm willing to sacrifice a little taste if it means that it's better for my health.

Fast forward to when I was shopping at Trader Joe's last week and I just so happened upon said McCann's Steel Cut Oatmeal.  There were also about ten other kinds of oatmeal for me to choose from.  Then I noticed that Trader Joe's actually had their own brand of quick cook steel cut oatmeal.  It was very slightly less expensive than McCann's, but what I really liked about it was that it wasn't a cereal-box type container, but rather a cylindrical container with a plastic lid.  Sold!

On the container, it says that it cooks in just 8 minutes and it had directions for both cooking on the stove top and in the microwave.  Being too lazy to break out the pot and ladle the first few times I cooked this, I opted for the microwave.  I would put one part oatmeal and three parts boiling water into a really deep bowl and and microwave for the recommended three minutes.  Directions are given to stir and then microwave for another 2-3 minutes.  Unfortunately, though my bowl was deep, the water often times would spill over the sides as the oats expanded the first microwaving session around.  Frustrating and annoying.  Can't leave that microwave!

I'm sure that it's very possible to microwave oatmeal without the mess, but I don't have it down to a science yet, therefore, I now opt for the stove.  Sure beats scrubbing starch off my microwave tray!  I use the same proportions which are one part oatmeal and three parts water and cook for the suggested 8 minutes.  The resulting product are surprising deliciousness!  This oatmeal is really fine, so the texture ends up being pretty darn smooth.

For taste, I've been stirring in a spoon of brown sugar, plus sliced banana and nectarine.  The brown sugar melts so lovely on hot oatmeal!  I'm already thinking of all the things that I could flavor this oatmeal with, including milk, different kinds of sweeteners like honey, condensed milk and granulated sugar, different fruits, different spices... Now I'm excited about breakfast!
Oatmeal

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
November 14, 2011
are they gluten free
November 15, 2011
I'll have to check my carton when I get home, but I know some gluten-free folks who eat McCann's with no issue, which you can also get at TJ's.
November 18, 2011
Hey Donna, I just checked my box and this is what it says on it:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6234/6358988689_1657bdbffd.jpg

Oats are naturally gluten-free, so if you're on a gluten-free diet for non-medical reasons, you'll be fine, but if you're highly sensitive and have a medical reason to be on a gluten-free diet, I would avoid it.
 
March 01, 2010
I purchased this a few weeks ago, and didn't realize that it had been "quick cook" until I went to open it. I was very disappointed! I love making oatmeal with just basic steel cut oats, so it caught me off guard. I still proceeded to make it, and it still tasted pretty good. But once I'm done with this container, I'll likely never purchase this again. Since it is quick cook, though, it seems that it could work as an additional dry ingredient to bread, muffins and pancakes or waffles. It seems that having it be quick cook makes it more versatile.
March 02, 2010
I'm pretty lazy; when I want my breakfast, I want my breakfast! :P What kind of oats do you usually use? I'd be open to trying a new kind since I'm almost out of this stuff!
March 04, 2010
It doesn't really matter to me what brand but I like Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats - http://www.bobsredmill.com/steel-cut-oats.html Just your basic steel cut oats.
 
September 02, 2009
I'm still used to my traditional flavored quaker oats and I wasn't aware that there were different types...score another for you, Devora. I wonder if these can get chunky....nice review!
September 02, 2009
Thanks, Woo!  I mean, it's not a stretch to think that there are different types of oats out there, but yeah, I was just like you and didn't realize that there were different types of oats until I read @Aisha's review.  Unfortunately, these do not get chunky; they're meant to cook quicky, so the grains are tiny, which make for smooth oatmeal!
 
August 29, 2009
I'll have to try this out--I also liked the canister since it closes. Yeah, you have to use a tall enough bowl with the McCann's too but maybe the TJs stuff calls for more water. Maybe i'll pick some up and see how it compares. I'm just nervous to get attached since I have a TJs phobia (I'm too much of a slowpoke like I mentioned to you before!!)
August 30, 2009
I used what I thought was a pretty tall bowl; it was only 1/5th filled, and it still spilled over. Took too much babysitting in front of the microwave, so I just took my biznaz over to the stove! I hear ya! I'm always in somebody's way, or somebody else is in my way! Oh well :P
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Ingredients: 100% whole grain oats.

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 1/4 cup
Amount per Serving
Calories 150     Calories from Fat 25
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 2.5g    4%
    Saturated Fat  0.5g    2%
    Monounsaturated Fat  1g
    Polyunsaturated Fat  1g
    Trans Fat  0g
Cholesterol 0mg    0%
Sodium 0mg    0%
Total Carbohydrate 27g    9%
    Dietary Fiber  4g    16%
    Sugars  1g
Protein 5g    10%
Iron    10%
Est. Percent of Calories from:
Fat 15.0%     Carbs 72.0%
Protein 13.3%
view wiki

Tags

Food, Trader Joes, Trader Joes Products, Vegan, Vegetarian, Oatmeal, Steel Cut Oats, Quick Cook Oatmeal

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Trader Joes Moms is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists