True Blood
Season 3 starts June 13th!
True Blood: The Complete Third Season

The complete third season of the popular HBO series based on the Sookie Stackhouse books.

< read all 3 reviews

Glad They Are Back to Vampires!

  • Aug 10, 2010
Rating:
+4
Season 2 was a litte disappointing as the focus of the storyline got away from the vampires.  This season has introduced some new creatures (werewolves and other shape shifters) but has mainly focused on the TB vampire lore.  Bill has been kidnapped and is the clutches of the Vampire King of Louisianna.  Eric has asserted his power and has usurped his Queen.  Sookie's powers are being expanded and we learn that mind reading is only a small sampling of her powers.

This season is a lot more fun as Bill and Sookie have to re-kindle what has been lost.  Jason is still lost.  The werewolves, though a part of this season, are not the unstoppable creatures that they normally are.  In fact they are only slightly stronger than a basic shape shifter.  The one werewolf that has some morals and has befriended Sookie is the best of the new characters.

A bunch of characters that were prevelent in the first two seasons have already been disposed of but Lafayette and Tara still remain.  I am assuming we will learn what Sookie really is by the season's end and a showdown with the Vampire King is probably in the cards.  I am sure it will end with another cliff-hanger which will be bigger than the first two seasons.  Hopefully, we won't have to wait so long this time for Season 4!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
August 17, 2010
I am watching this on HBO currently; still good but it had some moments that felt a little forced--do love the werewolf themes though and that 3000 yr.-old vampire is very cool. Nice review!
August 17, 2010
Seem like the last few episodes have been a gorefest of blood and violence. The scene with Russell was surreal. And btw what was Jason doing with wooden bulletts anyway?
August 17, 2010
oh, he stole those wooden bullets from that religious cult I believe. Off topic: have you seen the series DEXTER? It is pretty good!
August 17, 2010
I am familiar with the book Darkly Dreaming Dexter. I didn't have Showtime until a couple of years ago so I missed the first few seasons of the series and one of these days I will try to watch it from the beginning.
August 18, 2010
This was one of the rare times that the TV series Dexter was better than the source material. Check it out!
 
August 12, 2010
Definitely one of the better shows on the tube nowadays. Like the rest of you I was a little disappointed the first couple of episodes, but it seems that all the pieces are now coming together and the season should finish nicely. I agree that we should not have to wait as long as it took the last two seasons to air for season four, but who knows the writers could have another strike- lol.
 
August 11, 2010
Nice review! I wasn't sure about the beginning of this season, but as it progresses I am finding myself more and more intrigued. Looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds. Thanks for sharing:)
 
1
More True Blood: The Complete Third... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2011
Caption
There are very few TV shows which manage to get better and better with each season. True Blood has proven that it is one of those shows. Following the strange supernatural events of the second season, the third season picks up where the last one left off and it doesn't disappoint. Certainly the darkest and most disturbing season for viewers, season three is also the most dramatic (or traumatic for the characters) as each character experiences a horrific revelation about their past or realizes …
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
posted in True Blood
The season is off to a rollicking start as Bill tries to escape his kidnappers only to fall into the clutches of werewolves!
About the reviewer

Ranked #1
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

The third season of the television series True Blood premiered on June 13, 2010, simultaneously on HBO and HBO Canada and will contain 12 episodes, bringing the series total to 36. It loosely follows the plot of the third novel of The Southern Vampire Mysteries, Club Dead.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: June 13, 2010
Description: The third season of the popular HBO series based on Charlaine Harris' "The Southern Vampire Mysteries".
Genre: Mystery & Suspense
Studio: Home Box Office (HBO)
Original Air Date: June 13, 2010 - September 12, 2010
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
True Blood is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists