Discover design books, websites and more!
Logo

Online shopping website

< read all 18 reviews

Addicted to Amazon

  • May 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I admit it, I have a problem...I'm addicted to Amazon.com.  If I'm on my computer, 95% of the time, I'm looking at Amazon, or if I'm not looking at Amazon, I just finished.  I started with books.  I've purchased dozens of books through Amazon.  They have a mind-boggling selection & you can get them for much, much less than at a regular book store (even with shipping costs included). 

Another great aspect is the customer reviews.  While not every item has been reviewed on Amazon, most of them have.  You can get an idea of how good the item is from other customers & after you receive the item, write your own review.  That's how I started writing reviews. 

It has a program that recommends items to you based on things you've purchased & rated.  You can also set up any number of wish lists to keep track of items you're interested in.  I have wish lists for books, movies, music, clothes, plants, & several other categories (& even subcategories).  

They have community forums available for every item, so that you can discuss them with other members.  There are the fun features Listmania & So You'd Like To Guide.  Listmania lets you compile a list of items that are related to each other (or not) & write a brief commentary on the items in the list.  It helps people find items they might be interested in.  The So You'd Like To Guide is also a list of items but requires a more detailed commentary. 

This is always the first place I look when I'm interested in something & more often than not I end up buying it through Amazon.  It sure beats getting in the car & driving 20-30 miles to the nearest Borders or Best Buy. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 22, 2009
Something you may not be aware of about Amazon is that alot of authors read the reviews on Amazon. I am constantly asked by authors to review their books based on reviews they have read on Amazon. As a result, I haven't bought a book in a few years and I get way more books than I can read at any time. My wife is constantly on my case about the piles of unread books in our house.
May 22, 2009
Yes, I actually have an advance reading copy waiting for me right now. It's been sitting on my shelf for about a month. Maybe I'll get to it this weekend...
 
May 22, 2009
Amazon is very good (for me it is mostly amazon.de or amazon.co.uk) for the very reasons you state. I like to buy used books on amazon - my experiences are much better than with ebay and similar to places like abebooks. If you like books and book buying you might have a look at librarything.com - a good place for organizing your books and talking about them with loads of very good and refined book reviews. My place there is www.librarything.com/catalog/cnrenner. All these places seduce into buying too many books and things, though :-) Kind regards!
May 22, 2009
I really don't need any more temptation than I already have but I will definitely have a look. Vielen Dank!
 
May 19, 2009
I agree wholeheartedly with you. In fact, I've often had better luck finding stuff here than on ebay.com or virtually any other website. Very funny & entertaining review. Thumbs up!
May 19, 2009
Yup, I just found a battery charger for my camera for about $15 less than anywhere else. Free shipping, too! Thanks!
May 19, 2009
No problem. I always check there first before going anywhere else. I've literally saved hundreds of dollars over the past so many years.
May 19, 2009
Same here...of course I've bought a lot of things that I didn't really need, which counters all that savings.
May 19, 2009
That's always the case I'm afraid. It's no different that way from ebay.com because I used to spend countless hours searching for auctions on things that I really didn't need but perhaps thought I wanted.
May 19, 2009
Yes, and it's easy to justify because it's so cheap.
 
May 19, 2009
So true! And now when I'm not on Amazon.com, I'm on Lunch.com. Help me! Great review.
May 19, 2009
LOL, me too! Thanks.
 
May 18, 2009
I used to love amazon and I spent almost all my time there and I still go back there a lot because they have a much bigger movie community than they do here at Lunch--and I'm a movie fan first and foremost. The one thing that is annoying about ammie is the way they started playing games with the voting system. I never cared how I was "ranked" or anything, but I liked getting votes from the people who read my reviews. It meant a lot to me.
 
1
More Amazon.com reviews
Quick Tip by . December 27, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Since I live in a rural area, Amazon is an extremely convenient addition to my life as I can easily buy stuff without having to drive 12-15 miles away to buy electronics or graphic novels.  With Amazon's Prime membership, which costs $80 a year, it includes free, speedy shipping (only two days from purchase, sometimes sooner) and being able to stream some movies for free on your computer.      However, like what the mighty Madpenguin has said in his review, Amazon isn't …
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
As an author and independent publisher, Amazon has offered me a world market. While I am saddened by its impact on indy bookstores, and would urge people, whenever possible, to patronize their local after using Amazon for shopping around - I depend on it for global sales.
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Best e-shopping site oin the Internet in my opionion!
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
Although not highly advertised, one of my favorite Amazon features are the "So You Want To" guides.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
If you can't get it on Amazon, chances are that you can't get it.
review by . July 03, 2009
It's admirable to see that so many people love Amazon.com.  I really enjoy the place.  I showed up to Amazon in September of 2000.  My first review was of a strategy guide.  It's still there.  The horrible paragraph of a review... the type of review I'd later come to hate.  I didn't actually make my first transaction from Amazon until about 2006.  Plenty here have commented on how Amazon is a great place to shop.  And I won't fault them.  It …
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
The 800 pound gorilla in book sales.
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Great resource for finding books and more .. I have a merchant account with amazon and post items on my blogs.
Quick Tip by . February 01, 2010
Great prices, selection, & shipping, but its members are generally disagreeable, and Amazon does not seem to censor any submitted reviews.
review by . June 23, 2009
I've been a customer of Amazon's since it opened, and over the last decade it's incredible to see how they've developed. What started as a simple but well-built online bookstore has emerged as the premier destination for practically everything imaginable, yet they've retained the ease-of-use, developed customer communities and practically invented the concept of online consumer reviews.  I realize now that I spent over $2,500 last year on Amazon.com, which doesn't sound like much but covers …
About the reviewer
Jamie ()
Hello Everyone,    I live in Missouri, which is almost exactly in the middle of the United States. Many people refer to it as "Misery" but I think it's a great place to live. I live … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
peekablue
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki


Amazon.com, Inc. (NASDAQAMZN) is a US-based multinational electronic commerce company. Headquartered in Seattle, Washington, it is America's largest online retailer, with nearly three times the Internet sales revenue of the runner up, Staples, Inc., as of January 2010.

Jeff Bezos founded Amazon.com, Inc. in 1994 and launched it online in 1995. The company was originally named Cadabra, Inc., but the name was changed when it was discovered that people sometimes heard the name as "Cadaver." The name Amazon.com was chosen because the Amazon River is the largest river in the world, and so the name suggests large size, and also in part because it starts with 'A' and therefore would show up near the beginning of alphabetical lists. Amazon.com started as an online bookstore, but soon diversified, selling DVDs, CDs, MP3 downloads, computer software, video games, electronics, apparel, furniture, food, and toys. Amazon has established separate websites in Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Japan, and China. It also provides international shipping to certain countries for some of its products.

In 2010, Amazon's decision to remove Wikileaks from their servers resulted in numerous calls to boycott the company, with many people particularly incensed that Amazon then went on to sell copies of the Wikileaks material, despite using this material as its reason for removing Wikileaks
view wiki

Tags

Websites, Retailers, Review Websites, Shopping Websites
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
All Things Design is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists