Vegan Living
Fresh reviews for a full vegan life
Green Tea

5000-Year-Old Tea Originating in China

< read all 4 reviews

Drinking Green Tea Everyday is Smart For Overall Health

  • Mar 26, 2010
Rating:
+5
Green tea has been a staple in China for centuries. They may not have known all of the specific health benefits of drinking it, but they must have known something was good about it. The western hemisphere is now increasingly finding out about it. Green tea is now being sold at grocery stores everywhere. There are also all different brands on the market. You can choose from Chinese brands to even Lipton or Kroger brands.

Green tea gets its color from its very short fermentation process of the Camellia sinensis leaves. Green tea is very high in flavonoids, which are powerful antioxidants that protect us from free radicals. One of these is EGCG.  These free radicals can damage cells and cause diseases including Diabetes and cancer.  Green tea's unique catechins, especially epigallocatechin-3-gallate (EGCG) regulates and inhibits cancer growth and kills cells that are growing inappropriately.

"I believe in green tea based on everything written about it," says Katherine Tallmadge, RD, LD, a nutritionist and spokeswoman for the American Dietetic Association. "Green tea, white tea, black tea -- I like all of them."


Some health benefits of green tea:
• Raises metabolism levels
• Strengthens the immune system
• Lowers the risk of developing Diabetes, cancer, arthritis, osteoporosis and heart disease
• Helps regulate blood sugar levels
• Helps lower cholesterol and blood pressure levels


It is recommended to drink up to 4 cups of green tea a day to get its full benefits.  Most green teas may seem to be a little more bitter than other teas so add a little sweetener if desired.  Green tea sold in stores can be found for the same price as regular tea.

I drink at least one cup of Lipton Decaffeinated Green Tea a day.  Unlike most people I don't add anything, even sugar, to my tea at all.  I like it the way it is.  Here’s to discovering a simple way to be healthier in addition to a good diet and exercise.
Drinking Green Tea Everyday is Smart For Overall Health Drinking Green Tea Everyday is Smart For Overall Health

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
March 31, 2010
There is the Japanese green tea (which is a lot more expensive) and the Chinese green tea. Most people in Asia do not drink tea with sugar unless they are drank as lattes or drank with iced. Green tea latte is actually quite good. If you haven't tried it, you might want to. I prefer the Japanese ones over the Chinese green tea for some reasons. You are certainly right about those health benefits.
March 31, 2010
You sure have more experience with green tea than I do. I did try a green tea latte once and I liked it. I would like to try some Japanese teas. I've heard great thing about them. Thanks.
March 31, 2010
Well, they do originate from this part of the world ;-) Btw, when you prepare green tea, make sure you do not pour boiling water over it. It will become very bitter if you do. What you ought to do is let the water boil & then leave it to cool a bit before pouring it over the teas. I was specifically instructed in Japan when I bought those green teas that water at 95 deg. C is best for green tea. For red/black tea, boiling water is essential. Not green tea though.
 
March 28, 2010
green tea is the bomb!! ever had the green tea pound cake and the green tea cheesecake? they are marvelous!!
March 29, 2010
No, I haven't had the pleasure of having a green tea pound cake or the cheesecake. I'll have to try those. Thanks.
 
1
More Green Tea reviews
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I've been drinking green tea in place of coffee lately and I love the antioxidant health benefits.
Quick Tip by . March 28, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
What can I say? It tastes great with everything, it gives you energy, healthier than coffee & boosts metabolism. YUM
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I have a cup of green tea every day. Boosting metabolism and improving overall health are reasons enough for me.
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Like other teas--including oolong, red, and white--from the Camellia Sinensis plant, green tea originated in China over 5000 years ago and has been a popular drink in other parts of Asia, specifically Japan, for centuries. Valued for its medicinal properties, green tea has long been known to cure indigestion and reduce fatigue, and it has been used as a cure for everything from headaches to urinary tract infections to depression. Today it is recognized as having properties that help reduce the risk of heart disease, stroke, and certain types of cancer.

Chinese Green Teas
  • ChunMee
  • Dragonwell
  • Gunpowder
  • Hyson
  • Pi Lo Chun
Japanese Green Teas

Health Benefits

Modern medical study has found green tea to be considerably beneficial to proper health. It's health benefits can be traced to high levels of epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG), a powerful anti-oxidant that has been found to lower cholesterol, prohibit cancer cell growth, and promote healthy vigorous flow. While green tea comes from the same plant--Camellia Sinensis--as oolong and black tea, it differs in how it is processed. Its unique processing involves the steaming of its leaves, which prevents oxidization of the EGCGcontained within. Unchanged by processing, the EGCG found in the natural green tea plant is left to flourish in the consumer product. A list of specific health benefits currently associated with green tea consumption is as follows:

High in Carotenoids:

Inhibits the ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Vegan Living is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists