Vegan Living
Fresh reviews for a full vegan life
Basil

A culinary herb.

< read all 10 reviews

My favorite herb of all time!

  • Mar 3, 2009
Rating:
+5

To put it simply, basil just rocks! It is by far my favorite seasoning herb and to tell you the truth, I would probably enjoy eating the leaves straight off the plant! I bought Greek basil last summer at the farmers market and was thrilled by how it grew and grew. Add a bit of sunshine, a splash of water every other day (depending on the weather) and I had a very healthy plant.  I had so much of it that by the end of the summer I was force feeding my friends caprese salad and canning fresh pesto sauce.

This summer I've decided to experiment and try both small and large sweet basil. I purchased four small sweet basil (which don't look like they are doing that well) and two large, generic sweet basil. So far, the large sweet basil is winning the growing competition. The leaves are huge and shiny, and the stems seem to have multiplied in just one week. I'm excited to see how long it takes before I can start using it for my favorite recipes.

Basil can be used in just about anything and everything (though I have been known to cross culinary boundaries with my cooking experiments). I highly recommend basil for caprese, fish, pasta, bruschetta, scrambled eggs and every type of sandwich.

Another basil perk? It smells mouth-watering fantastic! I guarantee that if you cook with fresh basil your friends and family are going to nominate you for Top Chef!

Check out my favority basil recipe in the wiki section...simple and delicious. Let me know how it turns out!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
August 04, 2009
What a great topic! I love basil. Now I am going to have basil today. I used to buy basil in the grocery store, but the price of fresh herbs is staggering. A few years ago I bought some seeds for $1 and with a few large pots and some soil, I had a containerized basil forest! I have a photo somewhere around here... Since I left the basil to go to seed, the basil returns to those pots each year. Great write-up!
 
May 18, 2009
Had I found this earlier I might not have posted my Ode to Bruschetta.  :P
 
May 15, 2009
I love basil and I am happy summer is around the corner...I am looking forward to tomatoes for caprese salads. But my favorite herb is cilantro, which is a love it or hate it kind of flavor. I will post some of my fave cilantro recipes soon.
May 15, 2009
I love cilantro too. In fact, I just bought some at the farmer's market and I am going see if I can make it last this summer. Last year, my Gemma (my English Bulldog) ate the entire plant before I even had a chance to sample it. Can't wait to try your recipes!
 
April 09, 2009
Fresh basil, and heirloom tomatoes from the garden with a little buffalo mozzarella - doesn't get much better than that for a summertime app.
May 20, 2009
Couldn't agree more. I would eat it every night for dinner if I could.
 
March 13, 2009
Basil...hmmm. where's my cooking set??
 
March 03, 2009
I also love basil, partly because it's so easy to grow and maintain! Do you have a favorite variety, like Thai or Sweet? My favorite is Thai but it's sometimes hard to find at nurseries.
 
1
More Basil reviews
review by . June 02, 2010
posted in Gourmand
2 words:       Caprese Salad. Let's stop talking about it and go out and get some.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Its a wonderful herb to season just about any dish
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I love making caprese on a stick -- skewer a mini heirloom tomato, a rolled basil leaf and a cube of mozarella on a toothpick. Drizzle balsamic over it. Pretty and yummy.
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
If you're growing it, make sure it gets lots of sun but not direct sunlight fot too long or the leaves burn. I've always found basil tricky to grow but so worth it.
Quick Tip by . May 27, 2010
Love pesto!
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Tomatoes love basil, especially in salad. Fresh is best, dried still works. How could it be bad, it's Italian?
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2009
Mmmmm, I dig basil gimlets, tomato mozzarella basil salad, and pesto! I'll put basil in just about anything :)
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2009
I love Basil. The fragrance, the smell the multiplicity and more than anything the way that it makes my breakfast better. I heart Basil!
review by . April 20, 2009
     What a versatile herb!  Italian, French, Thai, salads...  I could go on forever!  In dried format, I like to use basil in spaghetti sauce, beef stew, chicken noodle soup, pretty much any kind of pasta sauce, even in my spinach artichoke dip.  I also love to toss fresh basil in with pasta dishes or any Thai dish.  And, of course, throw some fresh basil in the food processor with garlic, oil and cheese and you've got pesto!  (Don't even get me …
About the reviewer
Bethany ()
Ranked #16
Hello Lunchers!      I am a contributing writer foran onlinelife and style website that highlights hot-spots in Minneapolis and Chicago. As such, I frequent many new boutiques, restaurants, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bethany_K
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Basil is a culinary herb found in many Italian and Asian recipes. Basil varieties include Sweet, Thai, Lemon, and Greek.

Basil is originally native to Iran, India and tropical regions of Asia. With sunlight and warm, dry conditions the herb can grow 30-130 cm in height. In the U.S., Basil has the best chance of survival and growth if planted during the late spring or summer months.  Basil can be grown inside in a sun-lit window or outside. However, basil does not fare well in the cold and care should be taken to reduce exposure to cold drafts or frost.

There are several Basil pathogens that will ruin the growth and use of the herb. Fusarium wilt is fungal disease that is soil-borne and will kill young basil plants. Grey mold can also cause plant infections.

Basil has been shown to have positive health effects in humans. It is used as a supplement to treat stress, asthma and diabetes in India.

Popular Basil Recipe:
Tomato, Mozzarella & Basil Bruschetta

6 plum tomatoes, chopped
1 package of mozzarella cheese, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
6-8 fresh basil leaves, chopped
salt
freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 baguette French bread or similar Italian bread
1/4 cup olive oil

Start by chopping the tomato and mozzarella into small, bite size pieces. Wash and dry the basil and chop.
 
Slice the baguette on a diagonal about 1/2 inch thick slices. Coat one side of each slice with olive oil and minced garlic (combined) using...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Vegan Living is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists