Vegan Living
Fresh reviews for a full vegan life
Strawberry

A false fruit that is native to France.

< read all 8 reviews

Aphrodisiac!

  • Mar 2, 2010
Rating:
+5
I've loved strawberry as long as I could remember. Strawberry as a fruit, strawberry with whipped cream, strawberry cake, strawberry icecream, strawberry yogurt, strawberry daiquiri, strawberry milkshake, strawberry jam, strawberry crepe, ichigo daifuku (strawberry mochi) ... you name it, I don't think there is anything I dislike about strawberry! 



Strawberry is quite an exotic fruit when it was first introduced to me. Back then, it was very expensive and also for most time not in season. It is an enticing fruit though, with a glowing red appearance, very feminine and sometimes sweet to no extent. There is something about Strawberry... :-)




Now that Spring is awakening, it is that time of the year for Strawberries! 
Strawberries are delicate and rot very quickly. Hence it is essential to keep it dry and eat them as early as possible. When I was living in Toronto, there are farms where one could go during the weekends to harvest strawberry. Strawberries are still harvested by hands in this modern day when technology has advanced a great deal. Hence, many a time the farm will allow the volunteer who are there to pick strawberries to eat to their heart contents after they are done with their quota of the day!

United States is the major producer of strawberries. Turkey and Spain are also major producers in the world.



Ichigo Daifuku is strawberry mochi which is actually strawberry wrapped in sticky rice dough. It is a very popular dessert/snack in Asia and is often associated with good luck. I haven't ever make Strawberry mochi but looking at the recipe I figure anyone who knows how to cook should have no problem making one. It must be interesting to also try out the recipe for Mochi Ice Cream

My favorite ice cream is Haagan Dazs Strawberry Ice Cream. I wrote a review on it a few months back. Check it out if you're interested in getting some fantastic strawberry ice cream! Yum!





Ah, Crepes! Very chic, very French, very delicious! This is another favorite desserts of mine. Strawberry with whipped cream wrapped within the piping hot & crispy crepes... Marvelous!



Strawberry jam on top of a layer of butter with toasted white bread is the simplest breakfast but simply delish! Trust me, try it! :-)



In addition to its distinctive aroma & flavor, Strawberry is aphrodisiac! 
No matter, I love the cocktail Strawberry Daiquiri. It's my most favorite cocktail so much so that even when served virgin, I still love it!



Red, Sexy & Sweet!!!
Aphrodisiac! Aphrodisiac!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
September 19, 2010
Wow these pictures shure do look appetizing and as you said " I don't think there is anything I dislike about strawberry! " I eat them all the time and they actually grow here in Iceland but in very small quantity and they are very small but the taste is very intense. I have twice found the in the forrest which surrounds our summer house and the taste was so intense, sweet and strawberry.
September 19, 2010
I'd have imagined the soil in Iceland would be great for growing fruits or vegetables. The strawberries you've had must be some of the freshest. Unless in Canada, most of the strawberries I've had were from Australia. They are a tad more expensive when imported so I had my fair share of the fruit only when I'm in Canada or the U.S. :-)
 
March 07, 2010
Um, now I can't wait for strawberries to come into season in California! Great review, Sharrie :)
March 07, 2010
Thanks, Debbie! For some reasons I could never have enough of this fruit!
 
March 03, 2010
Did you know that there are about 37,000 calories in the pictures you sow in this review? I'm with you. Strawberries are positively my favorite fruit.
March 03, 2010
Ha! Wait til you see those pictures on my Cake review! ;-) I stop counting calories long time ago!
 
March 02, 2010
that's it! I am boycotting your reviews...you are going to drain my grocery budget LMAO
March 02, 2010
LOL.... Pink is beautiful ;-)
 
1
More Strawberry reviews
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2011
posted in Green Living
My favorite sweet fruit to just munch on. They go well with many different kinds of desserts.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
strawberry have many uses in cooking and the bedroom. there great as a dersert and as an sexual object
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Wild Strawberries are amazing and packed with flavors.
Quick Tip by . March 25, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
All time favorite! Strawberries always put a smile on my face!
Quick Tip by . March 07, 2010
posted in Green Living
Fun item to grow and very tasty. Adds flavor to just about anything. Fantastic on cereal and on any fruit salad, parfait or ice cream.
Quick Tip by . March 07, 2010
posted in Gourmand
A fun as well as enticing fruit. Not only is it attractive in color, it is delicious & versatile. Ice cream, jam, drink, crepe, cake, etc...
Quick Tip by . March 02, 2010
A fun as well as enticing fruit. Not only is it attractive in color, it is delicious & versatile. Ice cream, jam, drink, crepe, cake, etc...
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Sharrie
About this food

Wiki

Garden strawberries are a common variety of strawberry cultivated worldwide. Like other species of Fragaria (strawberries), it belongs to the family Rosaceae. Technically, it is not a fruit but a false fruit, meaning the fleshy part is derived not from the plant's ovaries (achenes) but from the peg at the bottom of the bowl-shaped hypanthium that holds the ovaries.

The Garden Strawberry was first bred in Brittany, France in 1740 via a cross of Fragaria virginiana from eastern North America , which was noted for its flavor, and Fragaria chiloensis from Chile brought by Amédée-François Frézier, which was noted for its large size.

Cultivars of Fragaria × ananassa have replaced, in commercial production, the Woodland Strawberry, which was the first strawberry species cultivated in the early 17th century.

In addition to being consumed fresh, strawberries can be frozen, made into preserves, as well as dried and used in such things as cereal bars. Strawberries are a popular addition to dairy products, as in strawberry flavored ice cream, milkshakes, smoothies and yogurts. Strawberry pie is also popular.

Strawberry pigment extract can be used as a natural acid/base indicator due to the different color of the conjugate acid and conjugate base of the pigment.

Some individuals may exhibit an anaphylactoid response to the consumption of strawberries. The most common form of this reaction is Oral allergy syndrome, but symptoms may also mimic Hay ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Aphrodisiac!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Vegan Living is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists