Veganlovlie
All things Vegan!

Short ones, fat ones, thin ones

  • Mar 9, 2010
Rating:
+5

As long as they're sweet and topped with some luscious icing, I love them.  Cake.  It’s my favorite dessert, aside from tiramisù which seems hard to duplicate vegan-wise.  Fortunately for me Isa already did the work as far as vegan cake is concerned.  Yes you could probably figure out on your own how to veganize your great grandma’s chocolate cake recipe, but did she put tequila in hers?  Or how about some espresso pastry cream in the middle, hmm?  That’s what I thought.  Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World is loaded with creative cupcake and icing combinations.  Some of my favorites so far have been the Tiramisù, Strawberry Tallcake and Cappuccino cupcakes.  But lets not forget the Margarita, Cookies and Cream, Pumpkin Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter, and plain ole vanilla cupcakes.  And I’m just getting started with those.

This cookbook is loaded with fun and tasty cupcakes recipes, and there are even two gluten-free vegan cupcake recipes in the book (which are tasty too – just ask my sister) that can be substituted for most of the other non gluten-free ones if you work at it.

This cookbook has also made me realize that cake doesn’t have to be reserved for a special occasion.  I always love my birthday because that’s when I get cake, but it, of course, only comes around once a year.  And I don’t have many friends getting married these days, and even less of them who are vegan, so wedding cake it out.  But with all these fabulously creative recipes I’m finding tones of reasons to make them; like New Year’s Eve, Valentine’s day, any given Saturday.  Yes, Saturday: girls night in.  Some friends and I frequently have “Cupcakes and Cocktails” night now, which is just superb because we get to eat cake and drink.  (What more could you want?)

So, all this is to say that this is a wonderful sweet tooth of a book and would make a charming addition to anyone’s collection.  And don’t worry about the omnivores – they won’t know these little guys are vegan (trust me).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
July 13, 2011
Vegan cupcakes sounds like a great idea. Just keep the sugar calories low. Maybe anise, cinnamon or stevia can be employed as sugar substitutes.
 
November 11, 2010
These look DUH-LICIOUS! Who knew? I love your Cupcakes and Cocktails night- that sounds like a blast!
 
August 26, 2010
Looks so yummy! I loved the photos you included too.
 
August 26, 2010
Oh, I need to buy this book! Nice review and yummy pictures.
 
March 14, 2010
I'm an equal opportunity employer when it comes to cupcakes, so those pictures make me wanna go NOM NOM NOM!  Who knew that there were so many vegan possiblities for cupcakes?  I love it!  Great review, Amber.  Thanks for sharing! :)
 
March 09, 2010
I almost bought this book once, but I didn't, for some reason. Those photographs are making me reconsider my choice though! I saw a recipe online for root beer float cupcakes (or something like that) that supposedly came from this book. Isa also has a new book, Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, if you like cookies :)
March 09, 2010
There is a recipe for stout cupcakes, I haven't tried it yet. And I have the cookie book too, though I haven't had time to make many of those recipes yet. There's even more cookie recipes than cupcakes!
March 09, 2010
Really? Wow. I'll probably buy the cupcake book first, because my local health-food store has a bakery that offers fresh vegan cookies.
March 22, 2010
Made the first item from the book today. Basic Chocolate with coconut sprinkled over the buttercream frosting.. We will see what the folks at work think. I think I can taste the soymilk difference..I will see if anyone at work notices..

Made the RED Velvet Cupcakes YUM!!! a Hit
 
1
More Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the W... reviews
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
posted in Grist
I got this for Christmas and it is blowing my mind! I am very excited to try the coconut flavor.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Just arrived in the post.. Looks Fantastic. Easy to follow, nice format & the photos are mouthwatering. tiny book
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
My mom and I love the cupcake recipes that I've made so far! The "cream cheese" frosting & chocolate were awesome!
About the reviewer
Amber Herrington ()
I'm a 27 year old Arkansas escapee who came to Portland, OR a few years ago. I love the trees, running by the Willamette, public transportation, beer, wine, coffee, and farmers markets. I started following … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
parsnipsandsprocke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by parsnipsandsprockets
About this book

Wiki

Vegan cupcakes will take over the world. Better to give in sooner than later and make this a smooth transition. After all, they're so delicious, easy to make, adorable and portable, these little cuppers are sure to be the beginning of a dairy-free baking revolution.

In this sweet and sassy guide, Isa Chandra Moskowitz, author of the smash-hit cookbook Vegan with a Vengeance,and Terry Hope Romero serve up a batch of everyone's favorite dessert. Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World unleashes more than 75 recipes for cupcakes and frostings--some innovative, some classics--with beautiful color photographs.

Every single recipe has been tested to perfection, so sneak these 'cakes into any party and watch them win over the crowd. Indulge in:

* Brooklyn Brownie Cupcakes 
* Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Cupcakes 
* S'mores Cupcakes 
* Lemon Macadamia Cupcakes 
* Mucho Margarita Cupcakes 
* Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cupcakes 
* Cappuccino Cupcakes filled with Espresso Crème

 

You'll also learn Isa and Terry's secrets of no-fail baking, inspired decorating, piping like a pro, and shopping for vegan ingredients, plus true cupcake anecdotes from the trenches. When Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World , no dessert lover can resist!

view wiki

Tags

Food, Cookbooks, Vegan, Cupcakes, Cake, Baking and Pastry, Vegan Baking, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World

Details

ISBN-10: 1569242739
ISBN-13: 978-1569242735
Author: Terry Hope Romero, Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Publisher: Da Capo Press
Date Published: October 17, 2006
First to Review

"Short ones, fat ones, thin ones"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Veganlovlie is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists