Social Media
A Lunch Community

Video Hosting Site

< read all 4 reviews

Vimeo, Vimeo on the web, who is the fairest of them all?

  • Apr 24, 2009
Rating:
+5
YouTube is overrated. Oops, don't quote me! I want to live!!!
I blog about a video by the amazing Jonathan Jarvis (he's fast becoming my idol!) on The Crisis of Credit Crunch about 2 weeks ago when I received a link from a friend in my emails. It is a brilliant piece of work; well crafted, comprehensive & amazingly clear to us mortals. Here's the said video. Make sure you watch it!


That's my intro to Vimeo. 
And, as I went on to Twitter thereafter, and then Lunch, all in the month of April, I haven't got a chance to check out Vimeo until now. For the last few hours, I've just been fiddling around and navigating the site to find out what its attractions are.

I'm glad to say it passes with flying colors. For someone simply searching for videos, be it for something specific, or simply browsing & looking for entertainment, it is relatively simple and intuitively user friendly. It is extremely easy to have a mindmap of the site, I'm most happy to say! Incredibly easy. It is also well organized and truly looks clean, not in disarray at all. I've a very good feeling for the site, even though I'm not planning on uploading any videos. I love the HD quality of the videos and the sound quality is fantastic. All in all, a hidden gem (at least to me it was)!

cc: J.R., it would be great if you could get in touch with Jonathan Jarvis and perhaps get him to help with the official launch of Lunch. He's based in L.A. so that would be most convenient. The New Mediators is perfect for demonstrating & illustrating what Lunch is all about! Check it out & see how that works!

A cool video I came across today from Vimeo, enjoy ...


Go, Vimeo go! This is the Apple of the video sharing (hosting) industry. I foresee a bright future for the company. Just wondering, is it a listed company yet, anyone?
Vimeo HP Vimeo/JJ

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
March 04, 2011
Hell, I'd compliment this review if ye'd have stopped after that first line!
 
April 24, 2009
cool... thanks Sharrie. I'll reach out to him... his stuff is great!
 
April 24, 2009
Wow awesome review. I love the video clip.
 
1
More Vimeo reviews
review by . March 04, 2011
   Vimeo is okay, not great; but okay.      The interface wasn't so bad; but the CYA factor for the site itself was a bit aggravating.      If I'm making a tribute type of video, using Bob Dylan's music, and I'm not charging money or allowing downloading of same; why am I restricted as long as I give credit to the artist?      I also find that many websites will only accept YouTube embedding code. What the hell?   …
Quick Tip by . April 14, 2010
posted in Social_Media
I think Vimeo is superior to YouTube, the interface is much more pleasant to look at, and the uploading process is streamline.
Quick Tip by . April 14, 2010
posted in Social_Media
Vimeo was one of the first places I found to host HD quality video. I like the interface better than YouTube
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Vimeo is an online video hosting similar to youtube.

Wiki

Vimeo was founded on November 2004 & its headquarter is in New York City. It is owned by IAC & has about 1.4 million users. 
It is one of the few sites that the White House uses to post HD version of its broadcasts.
1st video sharing site that supports consumer HD.
It is free for most basic users and charges $60 for 'vimeo plus' members for uploads up to 5 GB.
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social Media is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists