WHAT CAN I SAY?
Say what you want about what you want
Sleep

A natural periodic state of rest for the mind and body, in which the eyes usually close and consciousness is completely or partially losti.

< read all 12 reviews

My record? A whopping 19 hours!

  • Nov 24, 2010
Rating:
+5
The subject matter of sleep fascinates me. So much so that I indulge in it excessively. It is one of the many luxuries of my life. I welcome it with open arms and reckless abandon. In return, I'm often rewarded with amazement and sometimes with enlightenment! I know I'm one of the lucky few. I even found God in my sleep! It is through sleeping that I filled life with more possibilities than I can imagined. Technically, it is through that part of sleep where scientists termed it REM (Rapid Eye Movement), that part where we dream.



Yes, I have lofty dreams. Dreams that took me to the heights, dreams that even offered me the idea of past lives! And more symbolically, dreams that led me to God! it is through sleep that I find Heaven and Hell. Yes, I've traveled in both, I've also been in between. At one time in Tokyo, I was suspended in midair literally in a hotel room where I was enclosed in a time capsule. No one except my spirit (soul) and my body. I was outside my physical body, floating in midair looking down, trying to get back and yet knowing there is not a single person out there (in my entire world). That was spooky and horrifying. To not know if you are dead or alive. To breathe and yet not able to wake oneself up or open one's eyes! That must be how coma patients are experiencing!

It is fascinating how sleep affects what I do in life. We mostly think of sleep as a way to rejuvenate. And yet sleep is a lot more than that. Other than our REM (Rapid Eye Movement); a stage which leads to dreams, what and where we are in non REM stage of sleep is still a big mystery. Do we hover somewhere in time? Or do we lost consciousness totally? I doubt scientists fully have a clear understanding of this.

Sleep is marvelous in its own way. None of which leads me to this review. Yes, I woke up having a random thought about sleep and here comes this passage. Don't you think sleep is full of potentials which we have yet tap into? Something as simple as sleep is truly not simple at all. Isn't it? As I said earlier, I'm one of those lucky few. I could sleep as much as 19 hours in a row! Yes, without water or food! I did go to the loo though :-) There are a great many who are having problems with sleep. Sleeping pills are not the answer but many can't help but indulge in them.





When it comes to what sleepless nights can do to humans, there are way too many consequences to contend with. To outline a few of which are these; a lack of sleep:
  1. Translates to insufficient energy, hence making a person lethargic which possibly leads to carelessness and lack of attention at work. We have seen how a careless mistake nearly destroy thousands of life in the case of "Unstoppable". If one is a pilot or in the construction industry, lives could well be at stake!
  2. Demoralize work and productivity.
  3. Pose dangers to everyone. Driving when one is sleep is one obvious instance.
  4. Destroy relationships.Having a moody and grouchy person to live with is disastrous for relationships.
  5. Risk death (due to cardiovascular disease). Tests had also shown that those who have difficulty in sleeping may be afflicted with depression, alcoholism and bipolar disorders (including excessive mood swings).
So, we all know that sleep is crucial to every single individuals. Yet, some are less fortunate when it comes to sleep. Some people snores a great deal which disturbs others! I know that first hand from some family members and friends whom I've shared a room with (It's not me, ok?!!!) :-)

Sleep may seem a simple activity enough. No special training needed. Simply close one's eyes and sleep! How difficult can that be? Even babies know how to do that instinctively! Yet, it is not as simple as it seems, isn't it?

For some of us, sleep is an enjoyment. For some, it comes at a price. Nonetheless, we all need it. We may have different experiences with it, but we certainly can't live without it. Just as fascinating if not more than what fascinates us about Food! As with food, we travel for it. By that I mean sleep does take us places, if not literally sleep walking, at least figuratively it takes us out of our body to faraway places. That's where our imagination lies and our potentials limitless!

Now, tell me you have never read such an article on sleep before, have you? ;-)

My record? A whopping 19 hours!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
January 03, 2012
How I do love sleep
 
December 05, 2010
Great review, love that sleeping baby photo! Sometimes I love just watching my toddler sleep :) I think that most of our ailments start from lack of sleep, since the immune system cannot function properly when we do not get enough. The sad thing is, many kids today are chronically deprived of sleep because of public schooling, especially the teenagers (since they often go to bed late).
 
November 25, 2010
Ha, I think you have me beat at 19, but when I'm sick 13-14 can be expected...
 
November 24, 2010
I need my 8 hours of sleep or I don't function properly :-)
November 24, 2010
Yep, I tend to agree with you. Actually, 9 is nice :D
November 24, 2010
Ha Ha yes even better.
November 24, 2010
Ok, off to dreamland for me! Goodnight!
 
1
More Sleep reviews
review by . May 06, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you
Many of us have heard that we aren't getting enough sleep.  This is very true.  Getting at least seven hours of sleep a night is very important.  It is not just to feel more refreshed the next morning.  There are many more health factors involved here that should discussed.  Getting enough sleep is another healthy habit that all of us could pick up.      Seven hours of sleep a night can help you with the following:   Sharpen your memory …
Quick Tip by . December 09, 2011
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
The third greatest thing in life (as with daily routine). It is re-vitalizing, healing and a significant part of life. Sleep is very important and gives the brain time to reboot itself from the stresses of life. I like dreaming too.... :)     
review by . May 17, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I'm an entrepreneur - which to me means that I can do a "grandpa nap" everyday if I feel like it. It fits perfect in my routine and i get around 8 or 9 hours a day. I do a lot of "brain work" which means it's essential for me to cope out both with sleep but also with meditation and exercise. It's essential to my wellbeing and my health
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
Best thing of my life! It's the place where all things are possible, oops, by that I mean dream! In any case, I've a long term affair with sleep. Can go without food, can go without a job & can certainly go without a man [;-)]! Sleep? No way I can go without it!!!
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2010
What's the worst part of sleeping??? Waking up! Those few precious moments where your body is telling you to get up but your brain is saying, "No, turn over and go back to sleep!" can either be the best or worst part of the day in my opinion.
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Not everyone is meant to sleep a straight eight hours a night. Some function best on having "two nights" and "two days" in a 24 hour period.
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2010
Caption
   I hadn't heard of the term "microsleep" before until I ran across it here but it says that an episode can last for a fraction of a second or up to 30 seconds. So the next time I feel like I'm dozing off in class, maybe I am!
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Sleep is second to meditation. The longer and deeper the meditation, the less sleep that is needed.
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Sleep - what a splendid thing! One of my favorite things to do...As a matter of fact, I wish I was sleeping right now. :)
Quick Tip by . May 08, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I love sleeping in! There is nothing better than a day off when you know you can hit the snooze button.
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Sleep is a naturally recurring state of relatively suspended sensory and motor activity, characterized by total or partial unconsciousness and the inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles.  Sleep is a heightened anabolic state, accentuating the growth and rejuvenation of the immune, nervous, skeletal and muscular systems. It is observed in all mammals, all birds, and many reptiles, amphibians, and fish. In humans, other mammals, and a substantial majority of other animals that have been studied (such as some species of fish, birds, ants, and fruit flies, some form of sleep may be essential for survival.

The purposes and mechanisms of sleep are only partially clear and are the subject of intense research.

view wiki

Tags

Healthy, Healthy Living, Naps, Resting, Napping

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
WHAT CAN I SAY? is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists