WHAT CAN I SAY?
Say what you want about what you want
WWE Armageddon 2005

WWE wrestling event from 2005

< read all 2 reviews

WWE ARMAGEDDON 2005

  • Apr 20, 2010
Rating:
+3
SMACKDOWN PRESENTS
ARMAGEDON 2005

During the month of December 2005 Smackdown came with a pay-per-view that featured a great Hell in the Cell match and yet still didn't match RAW pay-per-views as far as atmosphere goes at the time. And as much as I liked the performers from Smackdown I still prefer the action on Raw's events. With that aside this is still a nice event with great moments to keep you into the action.

1.MAT HARDY vs. J.B.L.-the event kicks off with an ok match that saw JBL defeat Mat Hardy despite how much Hardy should have won. This match had come together just two days earlier when JBL interrupted an interview Mat was in. The match starts off nice with Hardy surprising JBL and taking a quick lead in the match. But as the match continued JBL would eventually take the win pinning Mat. Over all an ok match to start things off.6/10

2.MEXICOOLS vs. MNM-following a segment showing a certain female manager giving it up to Batista, we see PSICOSIS & SUPER CRAZY seeking the same treatment. After they are blown off we have a great match between them and MNM. In one of the best matches of the night we see the Mexicools lose when they really should have won. They definitely were they better team, not to say that MNM isn't a good team because they are. But the stars of this nice match was the Mexicools, this match was definitely a highlight of the night.8/10

3.CHRIS BENOIT vs. BOOKER T [MATCH 4 OF THE BEST OF 7 SERIES FOR THE U.S. CHAMPIONSHIP]-before the match we see a video showing how the title became vacant and how the series came together. We also see Booker T's 3 previous victories in the series, 2 of the three were because of outside interference from his wife SHARMELL. As this match starts for the most part Book is in control for the most part, but once Chris starts in on the offense the match goes back and forth till an eventual victory by Benoit. The match its self is a pretty good match, and it also looks painful as hell when Benoit falls from the top rope after reversing a superplex. Even though the match is a really good match I still prefer their best of seven in WCW for a shot at the lost & forgotten T.V. title.8/10

Next we have the G.M. Teddy Long come out and thank the crowd for their support. Then all of a sudden VITO & NUNZIO come out as Santa and his Elf, it is pretty funny when they give out the coal. After they complain about always giving and never receiving, they are greeted by the BOOGEYMAN, who destroys both of them and stuffs worms down Vito's mouth.

4.LASHLEY vs. WILLIAM REGAL & PAUL BURCHILL [2 ON 1 HANDICAP MATCH]-this match surprised me a lot as Regal and Burchill actually control a good portion of the match. I was expecting Lashley to destroy them, at least run through Burchill. But to my surprise the 2 turned out to be good competition for Lashley. But as I expected Lashley came out to be victorious in the end after a Dominater.7.5/10

5.JUVENTUD vs. KID KASH [CRUISERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH]-this like the other match involving members of the Mexicools surprised me. To my surprise after an ok match Juventud lost not only the match but the title as well. I must say I was a little disappointed when the Kid won the match. The match started slowly but worked its way into a faster paced match, and after a head buster Kid Kash got the pin.7/10

6.BATISTA & REY MYSTERIO vs. KANE & BIG SHOW [SMACKDOWN TAG TEAM CHAMPS vs. RAW TAG TEAM CHAMPS]-after a video showing how this match came about we are treated to an inter-promotional match pitting Raw vs. Smackdown. This match starts out pretty slow with Batista mixing it up with Big Show, but once Rey is tagged in things pick up as Rey tries his hardest to take out Show and Kane. As the match moves along showcasing the talents of all involved it ends when Kane choke slams Rey after catching him in the air, and throwing him over his back. While this match was a very good match it wasn't the classic I thought it would be.9/10

7.UNDERTAKER vs. RANDY ORTON [HELL IN A CELL]-this match was definitely the highlight of the evening. After a great entrance into the match Taker went on the offensive and pretty much controlled most of the match. I love the fact that everyone got busted open during this match, first Randy Orton and soon following would be Bob Orton, the ref and Taker himself. The match its self was pretty violent but not as hardcore as I thought it would be. In fact the march wasn't as long as I thought it would be, but it still was an excellent match.10/10

So after viewing this WWE event again I must say that it was better then I had expected, but still wasn't as good as the RAW events at the time.
WWE ARMAGEDDON 2005 WWE ARMAGEDDON 2005 WWE ARMAGEDDON 2005 WWE ARMAGEDDON 2005

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 28, 2010
I'm assuming that you've been over to Wrestlemaniac's site since you guys are both from ammie. You've got so much in common. I haven't really been into much since the old days of guys like the Great Malenko etc.
 
April 20, 2010
woo-wee!! we have another wrestling fan in the house!!
April 20, 2010
Indeed
May 09, 2010
i like that we are having so many wrestlign fans comin to lunch
 
1
More WWE Armageddon 2005 reviews
Quick Tip by . January 02, 2011
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
So after viewing this WWE event again I must say that it was better then I had expected, but still wasn't as good as the RAW events at the time. Still there are some good matches here, if you are fan it is a great DVD to own.
About the reviewer

Ranked #1
I basically am just a normal person obbsessed with Mixed Martial Arts, pro wrestling, movies of all kinds, music of all kinds, books of all kinds, and of course foods of all kinds. Just trying to keep … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FM_ALEX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
WHAT CAN I SAY? is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists