WHAT CAN I SAY?
Say what you want about what you want
breakfast

A meal, most commonly the first of the day.

< read all 8 reviews

Breakfast Really is the Most Important Meal of the Day

  • Apr 1, 2010
Rating:
+5
Your Mom was right.  Breakfast is important and should not be skipped.  Eating breakfast will give you energy you need after sleeping all of the hours as well as curb your appetite and prevent you from indulging later in the day.  Of course, your breakfast needs to be sensible, but also be quick; everyone is busy, right? Below is a list of some breakfasts which are sensible and quick.  Glazed donuts and jelly rolls are convenient, but they didn't make the list below.  

Foods that will give you a quick and healthy start for you everyday:
  • Water, milk, green tea or juice (that isn't sweetened) are good choices
  • Incorporate complex carbohydrates, such as whole wheat toast and bagels. Spread peanut butter and raisins on top of either for added flavor.
  • Bake bran muffins early in the week, then grab one or two each morning or check out a local bakery for healthy varieties.
  • Make waffles Sunday morning and freeze the leftovers. You can pop ‘em in the toaster for a homemade breakfast. Also, grocery stores sell frozen whole grain selections.
  • Don’t forget cold cereal. We’re not talking about those covered with sugar, but the healthy variety. Items such as Wheaties and Cheerios are always good choices.
  • Add blueberries, grapes or strawberries to cereal to add a boost in flavor and health goodness.
  • Whole-egg or egg white omelets with fresh or frozen veggies (carrots, broccoli, celery, peppers, onions and even black beans make great additions).
  • Make a shake or a smoothie. Blend fruit and yogurt and then drink it in the car. A side option is a small bag of finger foods, such as a mixture of granola and grapes.

It is best to find foods that you like which are high in protein and/or fiber. I usually have milk, green tea or orange juice with a fiber bar, oatmeal and cereal for most breakfasts. You don't have to settle on foods that you don't like. Try new healthy foods as to not get bored of the same breakfast over and over again. Avoid setting yourself up to going back to the evil glazed donuts, jelly rolls or breakfasts from fast food places. You can eat these items without feeling guilty, but limiting them to just once in a while is a good idea. Your day starts with breakfast, make it a healthy one.
Breakfast Really is the Most Important Meal of the Day Breakfast Really is the Most Important Meal of the Day Breakfast Really is the Most Important Meal of the Day Breakfast Really is the Most Important Meal of the Day

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
October 11, 2011
I agree. Be careful of the sugar content, as well as excess gluten for those who are intolerant of gluten.
 
August 03, 2011
True that. I like a bit of oatmeal or a fiber bar.
 
August 03, 2011
Breakfast is a good time to stock up on fiber.
 
April 01, 2010
So true! I used to skip breakfast all the time (mostly because I was in such a hurry), but now I try to at least grab something and it definitely helps your energy level and metabolism. Your breakfast descriptions are making me hungry!:) Thanks for this thoughtful and health-inspiring review!
April 02, 2010
Yep, even just a banana and/or a glass of juice is better than nothing at all. Keep that metabloism going. Thanks.
 
April 01, 2010
Nice review! Too many people including school kids skip breakfast these days. Not a good idea. Like your suggestions as well.
April 02, 2010
When I was going to school there were many mornings I skipped breakfast. Gee I wonder why I felt sluggish and had no energy the rest of the day? Hmmmmm...
 
1
More Breakfast reviews
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2011
posted in Gourmand
It's the most important meal of the day, don't ya know! Just make sure there's lots of health food involved so you won't feel so hungry later on. Cereal and fruit makes a fine breakfast meal. But no matter what, no breakfast is complete without coffee!
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2011
Caption
I had mine mostly around other's lunch hour and skipped most of those that come with the hotel rooms. Sleep reigns!!!      I'll never ever pay some $25 for a hotel breakfast. They might as well go break the bank! Brunch is another story altogether!
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
I'm a black coffee and multi-vitamin kinda person... unhealthy, but I'm lazy in the morning.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Breakfest eighter on the go or sit down will help with any problem.
review by . June 08, 2010
posted in Gourmand
   Tuck your hand into a box of Kashi's Go Lean Crisp and you will be tempted not to bother with a bowl. This hearty and healthy addition to the Kashi line up is irresistible as a snack on it's own. All you need to start your morning off right is a box of Toasted Berry Crumble and a glass of milk to wash it down.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Most important meal of the day! Good to have breakfast-for-dinner too as a little change!
Quick Tip by . May 18, 2010
my father says: eat your breakfast alone, share the dinner with a friend, leave the supper to your enemy
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Breakfast is the first meal of the day. The word is a compound of "break" and "fast," referring to the conclusion of fasting since the previous day's last meal. Breakfast meals vary widely in different cultures around the world but often include a carbohydrate such as cereal or rice, fruit and/or vegetable, protein, sometimes a dairy product, and a drink. Nutritional experts have referred to breakfast as the most important meal of the day. This is based on studies of the large numbers of people in the West who skip breakfast, to adverse effect on their concentration, metabolism and weight.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
WHAT CAN I SAY? is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists