WHAT CAN I SAY?
Say what you want about what you want
KFC Kentucky Grilled Chicken

A marinated grilled chicken at KFC that is targeted towards health-conscious customers.

< read all 1 reviews

This is great! What in the world took them so long?

  • May 2, 2009
Rating:
+4
I just  returned from my first visit to a KFC store in about 10 years.  The sign in the window encourages everyone to "UNTHINK  What You Thought About KFC".   What's going on here?   Yum! Brands, Inc. parent company of KFC was concerned about declining sales at KFC over the past few years.  It seems that a significant segment of health-conscious Americans have been shying away from KFC and opting for healthier alternatives elsewhere.  Personally, I gave up deep fried foods more than 20 years ago and since KFC has not offered grilled or roasted chicken in a good many years I avoided the place completely.  I was always puzzled why KFC refused to offer a healthier choice. 

Well finally the executives at YUM have seen the light.  Last spring they introduced a product they are confident will return the chain to its former glory.  And it is a fine product indeed.  Kentucky Grilled Chicken turns out to be a tasty alternative to the deep fried stuff.  I opted for the 2 pc breast and wing combo.  I thought the seasoning was just about right.  Not quite as salty as "Original Recipe" and as you might expect not as greasy. The breast was just a tad on the dry side and that is why I am rating it a +4  as opposed to a +5.   Meanwhile, I have always loved the mashed potatoes and gravy at KFC so I took the liberty to order 2 helpings as my sides.  Just like the good old  days when nary a week went by without at least one visit to this very same KFC outlet! 

The introduction of Kentucky Grilled Chicken returns me to the fold at long last!  While I was having my lunch I sat near the counter.  Practically everyone who came in ordered Grilled Chicken.   This is a product that the public clearly wants and I believe it will be highly successful.  By the way if you are so inclined there is even a website!  Check it out at www.unthinkkfc.com.     Highly recommended! 

 
KFC KFC 2

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
39
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 15, 2009
Totally agree with you -- what in the world DID take them so long to introduce a healthier alternative? I really enjoy the grilled chicken, too!
 
September 18, 2009
KFC's Grilled Chicken option took so long because YUM has always been mortified that launching a "healthy" meal option would deposition their other menu items - rendering them "unhealthy' in the consumer's mind. Well, two years of double-digit sales declines has a way of refocusing their options... Great review!
 
August 23, 2009
Haven't had this sandwich yet, but heard it really excellent. I must pay a visit to the Colonel....or KFC as it's now referred to.
 
May 12, 2009
I just saw a commercial for this the first time today. After your review, I will make a point of checking it out soon. Thanks!
 
May 07, 2009
Great review...glad to hear about this. The nutritional info looks pretty good although a bit high in sodium...but a major improvement. Personally, I am waiting for the day that McDonalds begins serving oatmeal. I predict it will happen within 2 years.
 
May 07, 2009
Nice to hear I have been wanting to try it and now I will. Thanks
 
May 06, 2009
Also found that, KFC is offering free "Kentucky Grilled Chicken Two-Piece Meal" with the coupon that can be downloaded from http://www.oprah.com/article/oprahshow/20090...ows-kfc-coupon-download from 9 a.m. CDT May 5, 2009, to 11:59 p.m. CDT May 6, 2009. KFC turned KGC! Will definitely try.
 
May 02, 2009
I don't know what took them so long, but I'm glad they finally saw the light and brought it on! Good review.....I checked out the website too. Kentucky Fried used to be one of my favorite places.....maybe that will happen again. When I get the chance I'll check it out.
 
1
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

PRESS RELEASE: LOUISVILLE, Ky., April 14 /PRNewswire/ -- Kentucky Fried Chicken, the world's most popular chicken restaurant chain, announced a second secret recipe has been added to its menu - Kentucky Grilled Chicken (KGC). The announcement made today, at New York City's famed Friars Club (unofficially dubbed the "UNFriars Club" for the event), marks the launch of this revolutionary new non-fried menu item, which is available in KFC stores nationwide beginning today.

KFC's Kentucky Grilled Chicken is packed with flavor. It's marinated and seasoned with a savory blend of six secret herbs and spices and slow-grilled to juicy perfection. The cooking process includes a blend of spices that is proprietary to KFC and utilizes custom-designed, patented ovens, making it KFC's second secret recipe.

"The introduction of Kentucky Grilled Chicken is a defining moment in our brand's storied history," said KFC President Roger Eaton. "KGC is the latest menu innovation that showcases our commitment to meeting our customers' ever-changing needs while staying true to the standards of high quality and great taste pioneered by Colonel Sanders. This product will transform the industry."

With between 70 to 180 calories and four to nine grams of fat depending on the piece, Kentucky Grilled Chicken provides a non-fried option from a brand America knows and loves.

KFC Declares Monday, April 27 "UNFry Day" and Offers Free Taste Nationwide

KFC is so confident ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
WHAT CAN I SAY? is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists