WHAT CAN I SAY?
Say what you want about what you want

A Stunning Collection For A Jaw Dropping Match

  • Feb 24, 2009
Rating:
+5
Whenever we think of Hell In A Cell there's no doubting that we will all think of the legendary match between the Undertaker and Mick Foley at King of the Ring 1998. The match that literally nearly killed the hardcore legend and personified the most brutal invention by the WWE. Little do many casual wrestling fans know that there have been many more Hell In A Cell matches since that dreaded night. This collection brings almost all of the Hell In A Cell matches in history together for your sick enjoyment.

Hosting this fantastic DVD set is the man who nearly died, the Hardcore Legend, Mick Foley. He tells us the fantastic story of the creation of the Hell In A Cell match and gives us a brief introduction before every match. Mick Foley is a great choice as the host of this DVD as there's no denying that without that very famous match, we wouldn't see as many Hell In A Cell matches follow as they did.

Disc 1

Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels: Badd Blood - October 5th 1997

One amazing WWE debut for this speciality match and a lot of back and forth action between the two, which culminated in a decent spot that landed Shawn Michaels through one of the announce tables. Top that Mick Foley.

Kane & Mankind vs Undertaker w/ Paul Bearer & Stone Cold: Raw - June 15th 1998

I've not seen this match myself, but from what I've heard, it was one of those defining matches and being on Raw gave the HIAC even more exposure for what was to come.

Undertaker vs Mankind: King Of The Ring - June 28th 1998

Well this truly was the defining match that emphasised the sheer brutality of this match. It started off on top of the cell and within the first few minutes, that memorable image happened creating the phrase that JR will always be remembered for "Good god almighty they killed him." I don't know who they are, but I certainly felt the same when watching this match. That wasn't the end of it, however, and Mick being Mick wanted more and he got more.

Triple H vs Cactus Jack: No Way Out - February 27th 2000

This was the match that was to retire Mick Foley and bring an end to a long standing feud that saw him get beaten up time and time again.

Kurt Angle vs Stone Cold vs The Rock vs Rikishi vs Undertaker vs Triple H: Armageddon - December 10th 2000

Oh My God, this match is easily one of my favourite matches in WWE history by far. There was an attempt in it to recreate the famous "oh my god" moment by having Rikishi thrown off the cell. There were a few brilliant spots and some great action all round with one of the best endings ever.

Disc 2

Triple H vs Chris Jericho: Judgment Day - May 19th 2002

Their Wrestlemania match wasn't brilliant, but this match sure made up for it. Chris Jericho took a real beating in this match and without the insane spots, it showed why this is called the career shortening match.

Undertaker vs Brock Lesnar: No Mercy - October 20th 2002

Brock Lesnar made his debut in WWE at the start of the year and within only a few months became one of the biggest names and the most dominant forces in the WWE. Undertaker wanted to put a stop to that and he thought that job would be much more easier on his home turf of the Cell. Undertaker underestimated Brock and we had a brilliantly brutal back and forth match that cemented Brocks image of being the dominant one.

Triple H vs Kevin Nash: Badd Blood - June 15th 2003

Nothing to shout about really, they had a really good feud and this was a good way to end it. Other than that it's not very memorable.

Triple H vs Shawn Michaels: Badd Blood - June 13th 2004

Well before this initial match they had one hell of a feud which was to come to an end in possibly one of the best and most sadistic matches in the specialities history. They really beat the hell out of each other and it's surprising that they are still able to move today after such a confrontation.

Disc 3

Batista vs Triple H: Vengeance - June 26th 2005

I'm not a massive fan of Batista and really hated the idea of seeing him in a Hell in a Cell match, but thanks to Triple H this match wasn't too bad. A lot of back and forth brutality taking advantage of both superstars strengths.

Undertaker vs Randy Orton: Armageddon - December 18th 2005

I loved this feud, but I felt a bit let down by this match as it really wasn't as good as I'd hoped. I hope that knowing how readily willing Randy is to take a beating these days and put his body on the line, we will see him return to a HIAC against someone like Shane McMahon or even HHH.

D-X vs Shane & Vince McMahon and the Big Show: Unforgiven - September 17th 2006

This was a really surprisingly good match and the McMahons took one hell of a beating at the hands of D-X. The ending was spectacularly amusing and a bit disgusting.

Undertaker vs Batista: Survivor Series - November 18th 2007

I don't like Batista and I didn't enjoy this match as much as I thought I would as I've always held the idea that Undertaker can make anyone look good. Apparently Batista can't be made to look good even by the best there is.

A fantastic collection that anyone will enjoy.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
About the reviewer
Steven Stewart ()
Currently studying Law at University, my main interests revolve around Politics. I read quite a lot and love learning about History. Not just the history of a specific time, place and person, but I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Steveo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

It s the most demonic structure in WWE, and careers have been permanently altered by its unforgiving steel. Some of the biggest superstars in WWE history, including Shawn Michaels, Mankind, Undertaker, Triple H, Batista, and more, have had signature moments in the Cell. Now, for the first time, fans can watch the greatest Hell in the Cell match in WWE history as they are all featured in their entirety in this collector s set.
view wiki

Details

DVD Release Date: October 14, 2008
Runtime: 540 minutes
Studio: World Wrestling
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
WHAT CAN I SAY? is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists