World Wide Volunteerism
Paying it forward...
logo

A website that matches you with your specific volunteer wants and needs

< read all 2 reviews

Think You're Too Busy To Volunteer? Think Again...

  • Jul 28, 2010
Rating:
+5

I have a hectic life. I'm planning my own wedding and because of budget constraints, I'm DIYing a lot of it. I'm attempting to get my BA after I had to change majors due to circumstances beyond my control.  I have two jobs and work around 50-60 hours a week. I run my own company as well. In between all of this, I maintain my relationships, make time for the Fs in life- fiance, friends, family and somehow find some "me" time as in eating, sleeping and keeping my house clean. Sound familiar?

However, after gaining some inspiration from my mom who, at the age of 66, has volunteered as a CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) for children who don't have a voice. This is a hardcore program that requires a two year requirement because you are a court officer. Then, last night I finally watched Darfur Now and wow, what a film. I was so struck by the helplessness and the massiveness of Darfur just like I was with Rwanda and Uganda.

The thought came to me, what am I doing? After all the experience that I have with volunteering, why aren't I helping? Those "reasons" I listed above are all just excuses. So, I checked out www.volunteermatch.org. They have viral opportunities, so you can help out while you're tweeting and facebooking your day away. They even have volunteer jobs as a social media person- tweeting and FBing!

The best thing about Volunteer Match is that they make it so easy for you to volunteer, that it's almost ridiculous if you don't take them up on their offer. If you prefer to get out of the house, you get to dictate how you want to change the world. You can search via zip code and keywords (environment, women, kids, international, etc) and they will present you a list of perfect matches for you.

Like I said above, they also have viral opportunities so if you're the type that's always in front of a computer, like myself, this is a perfect match. If you want resume builders, they have them as well- every possible talent that you could have, they have a need for it.

So, have I convinced you? Well, why not just check it out and let me know what you think? It takes less time than reading this piece!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
19
Post a Comment
July 07, 2011
You can get good experience and expand the circle of friends and associates with volunteering. The psycho-social benefits are considerable. Volunteering can lead to compensated positions and/or engagements (gigs) as your name and work become known to a wider group of professionals.
July 08, 2011
I'm fully in it for the psycho-social benefits, I believe that we all have something to give to one another- be it time, passion, skills, lessons, an ear, a hand, whatever. One's strength is another's weakness, so we all end up balancing each other out.
July 08, 2011
I guess that's true in the scheme of things.
 
December 31, 2010
One more to add to the new year resolution! :-)
December 31, 2010
Definitely! And it's really super easy to find exactly what you like to do along with helping out others that are less fortunate.
 
July 31, 2010
This sounds like a marvelous idea. No matter what your interests or politics are there are plenty of opportunities available to utillize your time, talents and treasure. It's amazing how valuable just a couple of hours of week of your time can be to a person in need or an organization. We all should be doing something! Thanks for bringing this to our attention!
August 10, 2010
Thanks! It is truly amazing what a difference a day or a couple of hours make! It's unbelievably rewarding....I hope you get a chance to check it out, Paul!
 
July 29, 2010
Viva volunteerism!
August 10, 2010
LOL...yep!
August 10, 2010
Well, how are you doing?
August 10, 2010
Good hon...a little busy but, good! How are you, my favorite Count?
August 10, 2010
LOL! How many Counts do you know? And fictional ones don't count (bad pun, I know).
I'm doing alright, though keeping so busy with work that I haven't had much time for Lunch lately.
: (
I need to so some serious catching up around here.
August 10, 2010
me too...I'm trying to do some right now but, my Inbox keeps going off LOL
August 10, 2010
Well,at least I'm not the only one who has that happen. So often when I put some time aside to type up a review or a list, I suddenly get inundated with notifications and become too distracted to write. LOL!
August 17, 2010
LOL....me too!
 
July 29, 2010
I've read about this program and website and it sounds great, so it's extra nice to hear your personal experience with it. I'll take a look at their site. Thanks so much for sharing! :)
August 10, 2010
Yay! Definitely take a look and even if you can only spare a couple of hours, it'll make a huge difference!
 
1
More VolunteerMatch.org reviews
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2009
The best website to match you and the cause that you're passionate about without making you feel overwhelmed!
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #1
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

VolunteerMatch is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening communities by making it easier for good people and good causes to connect. It is best known for its public Web public service available at www.volunteermatch.org. The organization also partners with businesses to provide tools for corporate volunteer engagement programs and to support corporate social responsibility initiatives. The organization works with a broad range of clients in technology, manufacturing, packaged goods, financial services, and others industries. In December 2007, the organization's public Web site, VolunteerMatch.org, was listed in TIME magazine's "50 Top 10 Lists of 2007".

Here's a copy of their Vision, directly from their website:

Community

VolunteerMatch is about people. We are a community that believes in the power of volunteering to enrich our lives and the world around us. We believe that in order to be strong, a community must be constantly evolving, increasingly active and evermore diverse. We are proud to be supporting a community that grew to over six million users in 2008.

Relationships

VolunteerMatch is about relationships. We are a service that brings good people and good causes together. We believe that the health of our community can be measured by the relationships formed between volunteers and the nonprofits they serve. Our aim is to build services that overcome the barriers that keep volunteers and nonprofits from finding each ...

view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
World Wide Volunteerism is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists